RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum

RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/index.php)
-   General RC Aircraft Discussion (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/forumdisplay.php?f=101)
-   -   What do we do to become better pilots? (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/showthread.php?t=101676)

mark_ 03-05-2010 05:02 PM

What do we do to become better pilots?

I've been flying for about 2 years now and consider myself competent. I can usually handle my plane in most conditions, land it safely and do some mild aerobatics. Today I flew my Radian glider for about 2 hours. For the last hour, I practiced approaches and low speed turns. I think these really helped me get a feel for the plane.

I would be interested to hear what exercises other guys use to become better pilots. Just flying around in a wide open sky can only improve one's skills so far I've found.

Bdegan 03-05-2010 05:07 PM

Re: What do we do to become better pilots?

Set goals or objective to achieve.

Go up with a plan like, i am going to do stall turns.
Or do approaches and touch and goes.

Set the objective and work on it each flight.

Myself, I am trying to work up to rolling harriers. I can do a rolling circles at altitude and harriers dragging the tail down the runway. Now I want to do rolling harriers. Then eventually bring them down on the deck 8-)

Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

Tyler P 03-05-2010 05:20 PM

I basically do what Bdegan does. Go with a plan.

I started into 3D right away, but then started flying IMAC later. IMAC has made me a better pilot for sure because you need to be able to hold the lines and do things with accuracy. I believe it has also improved my 3D flying because I've started practicing a freestyle routine for competition. Practicing the set sequences of IMAC teach you new maneuvers, and then you can pull those maneuvers anywhere you want!