RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum

RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/index.php)
-   Electric RC Car and Truck Discussion (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/forumdisplay.php?f=121)
-   -   Opinions on Tamiya RC cars please (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/showthread.php?t=140322)

lamadude 05-11-2012 05:31 PM

Opinions on Tamiya RC cars please

Hi. I'm new to the rc car/truck field, with a couple of years of r/c helicopter background. I have a 1/10 Traxxas Slash 2WD truck that I really like and want to stick with Traxxas for Off Road vehicles, but I am looking for a road/race car and I don't like the cartoon look of Traxxas cars, so I am considering a Tamiya F1 model such as the TAM58447 Ferrari F1 or TAM58466 Nismo GTR.

I would really appreciate some honest opinions on Tamiya quality, the availability of parts(now and long term) and the availability of custom/upgrade parts for Tamiya models. I have been told in my LHS, that HPI is bad for discontinuing models and parts on short notice or after a couple of years and I'm worried about that issue. I have had to deal with that issue in r/c helis a couple of times and I am trying to avoid it this time around.
Thanks in advance for the help
Lamadude

waylander 05-11-2012 05:37 PM

Re: Opinions on Tamiya RC cars please

Tamiya is basically the first RC company, their TT-01 chassis has been around for years and most of it is compatible with the TT-01E so parts availability is a non issue but... tamiya is not well represented in Canada.

I personally love Tamiya vehicles, building is as much fun as driving and the ability to customize the bodies is wayyy cool. If you're running it on the street though I'd suggest a TB-02/03 kit over a TA-05 kit. A shaft driven car has lower maintenance over a belt driven.

The F1 is great looking but needs a really smooth surface to run on, there is no suspension to speak of and ground clearance is virtually non existent.