RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum

RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/index.php)
-   Electric Flight (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/forumdisplay.php?f=103)
-   -   Apprentice S15e Goes Rogue?? (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/showthread.php?t=386826)

Mike Fry 11-15-2015 08:50 PM

Apprentice S15e Goes Rogue??

I have been flying on the Apprentice S15e for a few months now.
For most flights, it flies the way it should, with or without the Safe being fully engaged.
The plane is usually very stable and predictable in calm and in moderate winds.
I try to fly as much as possible in the Intermediate mode with Safe mostly disengaged to improve my flying skills.

I have had 3 separate occasions in recent weeks where the plane became very uncontrollable with the Safe engaged in beginner mode.
Thanks to assistance from others, I was able to get the plane landed safely.
My last flight out after using 3 out of 4 of my fully charged and balanced batteries and having 3 very good flights, on the 4th battery, about 4 minutes into the flight the plane went rogue and was very uncontrollable.
Fortunately again I got the plane landed with no damage.
I change nothing in the Tx programming before or during these flights because the plane was responding well to my Tx commands.
Also my Dx9 Stealth Tx was fully charged when I started the flying session that day.
After pulling the battery (which was still ~80%) and replacing the same battery in the plane, I resumed flying again and the problems had cleared and the plane flew well again.

I never though much of this, but after this last close call, I feel there may be something wrong with the Safe Rx which comes with this plane.

Has anyone else experienced the similar 'rogue, unstable, uncontrollable' behaviour with their planes with Safe Rx installed?
Was your problem a one of or did it reoccur randomly, such as mine has??