RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum

RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/index.php)
-   Giant Scale Aircraft (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/forumdisplay.php?f=105)
-   -   EMI Shielding (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/showthread.php?t=73503)

bbbair 03-14-2008 01:18 PM

EMI Shielding

I'm new to the Gasser systems, but ever since I became interested in them one problem keeps coming up - Electromagnetic Interferance or EMI .

The cause is power to the spark plug - the solution is a braided wire shielding to the plug. SUPER!

Has anyone considered any other means to keep the EMI away from the radio? Perhaps placing some Aluminum screening on the firewall and expoxying it in place... :?:

Any fresh Ideas? :wink:

scaleguy 03-14-2008 01:27 PM

Re: EMI Shielding

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbbair
I'm new to the Gasser systems, but ever since I became interested in them one problem keeps coming up - Electromagnetic Interferance or EMI .

The cause is power to the spark plug - the solution is a braided wire shielding to the plug. SUPER!

Has anyone considered any other means to keep the EMI away from the radio? Perhaps placing some Aluminum screening on the firewall and expoxying it in place... :?:

No Brainer........................

2.4 GHz

:wink: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Sorry could not resist. Well the braided shield seems to work well for Electronic Ignition so I guess you are taling about the old school magneto. :D

couple of things to do...
  • - Keep Rx well away from engine
    - keep throttle servo well back in the middle of the fuse and use only "goldenRod" type pushrod for linkage, deffinitely no music wire pushrods for this.
    - Use mechanichal choke, saves servo weight and one less thing to worry about.
    - minimize metal to metal contact poins so if your engine has metal mounts the aluminum plate on the firewall is a no no.

Gary Maker 03-14-2008 04:14 PM

Quote: