RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum

RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/index.php)
-   General RC Aircraft Discussion (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/forumdisplay.php?f=101)
-   -   Radio Channels (https://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/showthread.php?t=130082)

mstoetz1 10-18-2011 10:20 PM

Radio Channels

Its going to be obvious that I'm new to R/C. I've already purchased and built an Easy Star (easy to build :p ) and I'm curious about the channel usage.

Is it normal to always have the rudder and throttle on the left joystick and elevator on the right joystick?

The easy star is just a three channel plane.. so just the throttle, rudder and elevator.

I would have figured the rudder/elevator would be the right joystick and almost be similar to a pilots yoke (pull = up, push = down, and left/right). Is there a standard that most go by?

I realize the aircraft with ailerons, will need another channel. (usually the right joystick?).

chuebner 10-18-2011 10:43 PM

Re: Radio Channels

I only have one 3 channel plane without ailerons, a Parkzone Vapor, and the rudder is setup on the right stick.

If you would like it to be on the right stick, it would be easy to do on the Hitec and Futaba that you have, you simply put the rudder servo wire into the #1 channel on the reciever. Then when the day comes when you move up to four channel planes, the #1 channel is used for ailerons, #2 elevator, #3 throttle, #4 rudder.

dean2287 10-18-2011 10:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mstoetz1 (Post 876069)
Its going to be obvious that I'm new to R/C. I've already purchased and built an Easy Star (easy to build :p ) and I'm curious about the channel usage.

Is it normal to always have the rudder and throttle on the left joystick and elevator on the right joystick?

The easy star is just a three channel plane.. so just the throttle, rudder and elevator.