LiPO volts vs 123 volts - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electric Jets Discuss electric jets in Canada.

Closed Thread

Old 10-17-2008, 02:37 PM   #1
Sabrejock

Total Props: 0
LiPO volts vs 123 volts

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
The ESC that came with a new foamy fanjet is labeled KMS 30Amps. And in smaller print "2-3LiPO". Do you think a 4 cell 1100 A123 be too much s far as voltage is concerned? Tex.
Sabrejock is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 10-17-2008, 05:19 PM   #2
Ken Currell

I am: Ken Currell
Radio of choice:
Multiplex Royal Evo
# of RCs: 30+

Re: LiPO volts vs 123 volts

Using nominal voltage of 3.7 for Lipo and 3.3 for A123 pack, it is 2.1 volts more than recommended.

Using fully charged votage it is still 2 volts higher than recommended.

I am not an electronics expert but IMHO.

It will likely work but the voltage regulator could overheat and shut down or possibly fail.
Ken Currell is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 10-17-2008, 05:31 PM   #3
Sabrejock

Smile Re: LiPO volts vs 123 volts

Ta for that, Ken. I don't know a lot about these dinky planes. I did a bench run with a four cell pack and the smoke stayed put. It sure had a good blow, too. But I think I'll make up a three cell pack and see if it'll fly on that. I'd feel better knowing it's safe, even though the investment here is pretty small.

On second thought, if it's only the BEC that could fail, perhaps I could stick in a separate BEC like the E-flite. It weighs next to nothing. Tex.

Last edited by Sabrejock; 10-17-2008 at 05:34 PM.

Old 10-17-2008, 05:45 PM   #4
Ken Currell

I am: Ken Currell
Radio of choice:
Multiplex Royal Evo
# of RCs: 30+

Fly it for a short flight.
Check the BEC to see if it is HOT.

If it is only slightly warm then try a longer flight.
I think that the way you fly will also be a factor.