RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Engines Discuss engines

Closed Thread

Old 08-07-2005, 11:25 AM   #1
Second time around
RCC Pro Contributor

Total Props: 0
What to buy in a Gas engine

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I have a sig rascal that I was going to put my 120 saito in . After going to the field the other day I watched a fellow with a Patty Wagstaff fly on gas .
Oh God I got bitten

So what for a first gasser what would be a good choice that would give me small in size no problems with electrics and dependabilty.

Pleas guys I said reasanable.
Thanks guys

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 08-07-2005, 01:06 PM   #2
voyager_663rd
RCC Supreme Contributor

I am: Len, an RPAS pilot

Total Props: 20
I can't answer your question as I have no experience with gas.

I guess, you need to define what you mean by reasonable. You already know that most planes have recommended engine sizes with the larger ones giving recommendations for both glow and gas-wise.

You talking about size? Make? Cost?
voyager_663rd is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-07-2005, 01:56 PM   #3
airframe

I have a DA50 in my Patty Wagstaff Extra 300 and it is a awesome combination. The DA is great engine, very easy to handle and if it is your first gasser it is would be the one I'd recommend. It is easy to start and maintain,I've never had to make a adjustment to it.

I have a DA100 and DA50 and they are excellent.

Mike Sebastien
airframe is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Old 08-07-2005, 02:04 PM   #4
AC/DC-patrice

i have a DA 50 in my velox and it is one of the best engine i saw

patrice
AC/DC-patrice is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-07-2005, 02:52 PM   #5
Gary Maker
RCC Supreme Contributor

I am: Gary M.
Radio of choice:
Spektrum DX8
# of RCs: 9

Total Props: 9
IF your talking about a gasser for a Patty, then yes, a DA50 is an excellent choice.