RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Nitro RC Car and Truck Discussion Discuss nitro RC vehicles

Closed Thread

Old 08-04-2009, 08:56 AM   #1
CarLuKe
RCC Noob

Total Props: 0
Advice / Suggestions

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Hello All,

I'm still very new to this hobby and have been having some trouble with my new car.

I bought a used HPI RS4 18ss locally and have had nothing but trouble. My first time out the glow plug popped out apparently due to stripped threads in the heatsink head. So i sent that off to CF Lee and had it fixed. After 4 weeks it came back and was in excellent shape.

I had a hell of a time trying to get the engine started and then next on my second time out the wire for the throttle servo got caught in the throttle linkage and was pulled apart and at the same time the JR receiver shorted out and died!!

So i went to the local hobby store and purchased a new Hitec aggressor radio, receiver and a throttle servo, installed them and took it our for a run.

Now i am running in to some sort of interference. I can't drive the car more than a few feet away from me before the connection cuts out and i have no control. And then when i do have control of the car, the throttle servo twitches and i can move the car forward!
And to top it off now I have broken the pull start!

So my question is this. With all the problems that I am having should i just scrap/sell this car and start over or keep trying. I was considering getting a new engine(rotostart instead of pullstart) instead of fixing the starter. But what do I do about the interference and radio problems?

I just want to take the car out and run it once with no problems! I've had it over 3 months and only had 10 mins of good running time!
CarLuKe is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 08-04-2009, 07:16 PM   #2
lil joe
RCC Contributor

Re: Advice / Suggestions