Working on my first Scratch Build. - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Fixed Wing Discuss fixed wing aircraft.

Old 01-26-2012, 05:15 PM   #1
Gary Maker
RCC Supreme Contributor

I am: Gary M.
Radio of choice:
Spektrum DX8
# of RCs: 9

Total Props: 9
Working on my first Scratch Build.

Although I have built numerous kits over the years, everything from .15 size up to 50cc size, I have always thought of doing a scratch build. Nothing complicated, for my first venture anyways.

Even though I have been building kits and flying for just over 20 years this year, I have often thought of finding a little known aircraft, working up a set of plans and scratch building it. Hopefully starting off with this simple trainer plane, and building it to a successful completion, will give me the incentive to one day actually fulfill my dream of doing a completely scale model scratch build.

One of my all time favourite trainers is the HL Telemaster 40. It looked simple enough to build and the plans that came with the kit are more than adaquate to cut out the individual parts to build the plane. It is pretty much stick built and the only plywood in the whole model is the firewall and the landing gear plate which is 1/4" AC Ply.

I am NOT going to make this a build thread. Just going to explain some the steps I took to put her together. I will add some pics as I go along just to give you an idea of what is involved. As you will see, it is only slightly more complicated than building this trainer from a kit. The only thing that really makes it different is that you have to buy the balsa wood sheets and trace and cut them into the parts needed to first make up the kit! Then just build the kit from the parts you made up.