35% Aerotech Yak 54 Build Thread - COMPLETED - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Giant Scale Aircraft Discuss Giant RC Scale Aircraft.

Closed Thread

Old 10-13-2007, 08:54 PM   #1
TBrum
BBT
★ Site Supporter ★

I am: Trevor B
Radio of choice:
Jeti
# of RCs: 10+

Total Props: 62
35% Aerotech Yak 54 Build Thread - SUCCESSFUL MAIDEN !!!

My winter project has been started today - I have never built a 35% before, so decided to take on this little project so that I'm ready for it's maiden in early Spring 2008.

Below is a link to the Aerotech website for all the specs on this great looking plane... I haven't decided the colour scheme yet, but I'll focus on the build first.
http://www.aerotech-rcmodels.com/Pro...k54/yak54.html

I have a DA100 with KS cans for this plane, but will also work at lightening up this build wherever possible (particularily in the tail) and may consider a DA85 or a 3W85xi on a single can, since they engines have incredible power (debatably more than a DA100!!!)

I bought this kit on RCC - there are a few parts missing, but the seller is working at getting replacements for me. My initial thoughts of the kit are:
* all the balsa sheeting has been squared by Aerotech - should be easy to sheet the cores!!
* the instructions are terrible, but the drawings are awesome
* except for the missing pieces, everything was damage free!

Here are a few pictures of the kit... huge cowl, lots of lumber and a ton of cores (wing cores not shown)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1_kit_contents_862.jpg
Views:	324
Size:	31.2 KB
ID:	27418   Click image for larger version

Name:	2_foam_cores_110.jpg
Views:	261
Size:	34.2 KB
ID:	27419  

Last edited by TBrum; 04-16-2008 at 04:17 AM.
TBrum is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 10-13-2007, 09:03 PM   #2
TBrum
BBT
★ Site Supporter ★

Radio of choice:
Jeti