My 200 Dollar CNC - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Construction Ideas, Hints and Tips For all the builders out there. Ask questions, make suggestions, trade tips.

Old 01-20-2015, 11:26 AM   #1
Hughes500E
RCC Supreme Contributor

I am: Steve H.

Total Props: 16
My 200 Dollar CNC

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I looked at my wife and I said, I want to build a CNC cutter. She says, "what will that do for me"?

First off, I have no experience what so ever when it comes to CNC. I have just recently upgraded myself to, able to build a square box and I owe that to my Ridgid compound miter saw!

Although there are many plans available for such a project, I like to be unique. Evident from my choice of aircraft and some days my attire, I will design my own.

I did 30 minutes of research and logged on to Ebay. Bought myself a TB6560parallel controller new in the box with free shipping out of Ontario for 80 bucks. I also found 3 new stepper motors rated at 1.3 amps 4kg holding power. These were favored by many with over 200 units sold. I joined the ranks and hit add to cart. Hope they work! They too came from a Canadian supplier.

I happily waited for the arrival of my new parts. Meanwhile, I did more reading.

Has anyone else taken on such a project?
Hughes500E is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 01-20-2015, 11:39 AM   #2
Hughes500E
RCC Supreme Contributor

Re: My 200 Dollar CNC

I should have done more reading. Turns out the TB6560 controller is not the choice I should have made. Many complain that they "fried" when power was applied or they simply couldn't get them to work or they miss steps. It also turns out that the controller is good for 1.5 amp to 3.5 amp max, (Wish I would have read that sooner) Received my stepper motors. I anxiously ripped the box open and yup, sure enough 1.3 amps. Incompatible with my controller