Electric Flight Discuss Electric Flight in Canada

Closed Thread

Old 08-04-2009, 11:35 AM   #1
jimb
RCC Apprentice

I am: Jim B

Total Props: 0
Any suggestions?

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
My first time with eflight. I scratch built a Tiger Moth following the usual balsa construction methods. Since I have no experience with the systems, I connected all the components and tested out the servos, motor etc. It worked fine!
Now all the flight surfaces have been connected and all of the gear has been installed in the finished airplane. When I turn on the Tx then plug in the batteries to the a/c, the servos jitter like mad and throw to their extreme limits and the motor starts and stops without any input from me.
My push rods are light wood dowel with Z bend wires on each end... could this cause some sort of interference!
the batteries on the Tx and the 3 cell lipos are fully charged and checked and yet the servos act as if the Tx isn't even on!
Any suggestions?
jimb is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 08-04-2009, 12:04 PM   #2
Hughes500E
RCC Supreme Contributor

I am: Steve H.

Total Props: 16
Re: Any suggestions?

Are you working with 72Mhz under fluorescent lights?
Have you tested/used the RX before?
Have you checked for PPM/PCM setting in the TX?
What radio and RX?

Sounds like interference to me!
Hughes500E is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-04-2009, 12:57 PM   #3
NorseHammer
RCC Expert Contributor

I am: Moe N.

The receiver is my first suspect, the crystal could be loose or damaged, the antenna wire could also be loose or damaged, the next thing to check is the BEC circuit, you mentioned using a 3 cell liPo so if the voltage to the receiver is too high things are not likely to work correctly either, more info would help us help you. See Hughes500E message.