Where do I fly RC? - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Beginners / Newbies Interested in getting in the hobby. Not sure where to start. Post your questions here and one of the RCCanada experts will be glad to help you out!

Closed Thread

Old 01-14-2010, 06:38 PM   #1
Luminosity

Total Props: 0
Where do I fly RC?

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Forgive my total noobness

I just wanted to know if I can fly my models in a park, or do I have to join a club and fly on the field?

Does every city have its own by-laws on RC flying?

Thanks.
Luminosity is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 01-14-2010, 07:09 PM   #2
williame3590
Administrator
★ Site Supporter ★
★ Site Supporter ★★ Administrator ★

I am: William A
Radio of choice:
Futaba

Total Props: 116
Re: Where do I fly RC?

It's good of you to ask best thing to do is to join a club. You will learn fast and well and save alot of money in the end.

Bill
Old 01-14-2010, 07:32 PM   #3
kirch
RCC Apprentice

I am: Richard K
Radio of choice:
Spektrum DX6i
# of RCs: 6

I think you have to check your local city by-laws about flying in the park. The Toronto by-laws forbid it. But I have flown my micro in the park a few times and got away with it. I figure it is too small and light to be of any real danger. It would probably have to hit someone right in the eye for it to hurt anyone. Anything larger poses a risk to others should something go amiss.

Insurance and liability is obviously something that needs to be kept in mind, not to mention the safety aspects.

There are also enough stories of dogs chasing planes in parks. And of course a model airplane or helicopter will quickly draw spectators. Some people are total twits and will walk right up to a helicopter or bug you so that you cannot fly or land safely.