cjensen
RCC Junior Contributor

I am: Colin J
Radio of choice:
Spektrum
# of RCs: 4

Total Props: 0
Question on Engine Thrust

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I've been flying a Great Planes Easy Sport 40 now for a few weeks. So far so good. When I built it, I was advised to put in a few degrees of engine right thrust. So I did. The plans call for zero degrees of down thrust and zero degrees of right thrust. I'm wondering what effect does this (that is, engine right thrust) have on the airplane (I'm fairly new to the hobby).

Thanks in advance...Colin from Saskatchewan!

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 09-16-2004, 10:56 PM   #2
ronm
RCC Supreme Contributor

I am: Ronm
Radio of choice:
Futaba
# of RCs: 10

The right thrust is for countering the forces that cause your airplane to yaw left during certain conditions.
Some will say it is to counter "engine torque", but I believe this is a misconception.
I believe the yawing forces are caused mainly by the spiral-slipstream of air around the plane that is caused by the propeller, and the asymetrical thrust of the prop that is called "P-Factor" which is caused by the prop angle of attack not being perpendicular to the direction of flight.

More detailed explanations are available, if you want.

Flying Tigers RC Club
"Flying an airplane is just like riding a bike...except it's harder to put cards in the spokes"
ronm is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-16-2004, 11:11 PM   #3
mikeyg
RCC Junior Contributor

I am: Mike G

Engine Thrust