Do people actually READ my engine reviews?? - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Engines Discuss engines

Closed Thread

Old 09-09-2007, 08:08 AM   #1
AJCoholic
RCC Supreme Contributor

I am: Andrew Coholic
Radio of choice:
JR 12X, 28X

Total Props: 61
Do people actually READ my engine reviews??

OK, I have a question. I posted this on RCU to try and get some feedback on my engine reviews. I have been writing for Fly RC magazine for 4 years now - and I from time to time see complaints on how engine reviews are crap, and dont give any usefull info, etc or that I am just shilling for the various companies.

Well, my first question is... do these guys actually read my reviews word for word? over various posts I read that they would like to see "noise readings", "how the engine throttles", "how did it idle", "if I had any problems".. and so forth. All these things and more are in each and every review I do.

My reviews are based on the following format that I developed when I started:

- dissassembly and inspection
- reassembly and break in
- test running of various props and fuels and plugs
- flying the engine as much as I can, sometimes with various props

Of course I comment truthfully on the running characteristics of the engine as it behaved for me. I am pretty damn demanding of my engines - if an engine didnt idle well I will tell it like it is. If there is any small issue with throttle response, its in the review. If I had any isse with starting, etc its in there.

But the problem to me, is that many comments I see seem like the real issue is that the review was only part read or skimmed over and many valuable tidbits of info were not read! WHat can I do if the reader just misses my information than suggests I "put it in there" next time?