Best 1/16 scale brushless? - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Nitro, Gas, Lipo chat (RC Car & Truck) All things related to Nitro, Electric & Gas motors... Tuning, experiences, setups and more.

Old 05-27-2012, 07:17 PM   #1
chriscole1983
RCC Noob

Total Props: 0
Best 1/16 scale brushless?

Hi and hello I am quite new to the rc scene and have a lot to learn still, so please bear with me. I recently bought a MERV with an Ez Run 4300kv 9t 1/10 scale motor and a track star leopard 60a esc. I'm having a hard time gettin the gearing right for bashing and am starting to consider replacing the guts back to stock traxxas parts. I imagine the previous owner had to shave the reciever box down to fit the oversize motor so right now the rig isn't water proof so that kinda sucks but man does it ever go like stink. I dont think the esc is waterproof eitherjust by looking at it. Right now I have a 23 tooth pinion gear and a 50 tooth spur gear. Any suggestions? I'm more into bashing but appreciate a good top speed as well. Do I stick with the bigger motor and figure out proper gearing or just convert back to stock?

Ps I am running Rhino 1550amp 3s 30c 11.1v batteries and pro line dirt Hawg tires
chriscole1983 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-27-2012, 07:47 PM   #2
chriscole1983
RCC Noob

Re: Best 1/16 scale brushless?

Also a good rim/tire combo for playing in the dirt/bashing?
Old 05-29-2012, 02:44 AM   #3
chriscole1983
RCC Noob

Bump
Old 05-29-2012, 07:27 AM   #4
wparsons
RCC Master Contributor

I am: Will P
Radio of choice:
DX8
# of RCs: 15

Total Props: 1

Hey Chris! The gear on it is a 28 tooth unless you swapped it out. With the taller tires it might be better off with something in the 23-24 tooth range.