DHC-2 Beaver - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Float Planes Discuss float planes here...or any other aircraft that floats.

Closed Thread

Old 10-02-2006, 12:49 PM   #1
Cam
RCC Noob

Total Props: 0
DHC-2 Beaver

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I'm interested in building a Beaver (with floats) as a winter project and would like to know anyones thoughts on what manufacturer would best suit me. I am relatively new to rc having built a SIG Kadet last winter to pass the time. I am looking to build a Beaver as I have always been fond of the plane. I am not looking for an ARF, rather a kit to keep me busy. One that would be as close to the looks of the real Beaver as possible as I would paint it up to match a real one (C-FODA). The Unionville Beaver appears to be quite popular, is there any difference in scale appearance between the 6' and the 8' kits? The reason I ask is that I already have a Supertigre .45 engine that would fit the 6'.
Your input is appreciated.

Thanks,
Cam
Cam is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 10-02-2006, 03:48 PM   #2
Jollidude
RCC Expert Contributor

I am: Wayne J

Personally, I think the 6' Beaver looks better than 8' version. Since you already have an engine to suit the smaller one I'd go for that. The only real problem with the Unionville Beavers is that the fuse corners are too square. If you double up the 1/4" stringers in the rear you can round off the corners more. The wood quality is great and they fly well.

Cheers!

Jollidude
Jollidude is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 10-03-2006, 12:03 PM   #3
Cam
RCC Noob

Thanks for your thoughts and tip Jollidude! Not having to buy a larger engine is something I'm keeping in mind. So far as suitable floats, is there a manufacturer that I should be looking at that would have a pair that would match the style on the attached photo? Thanks again.
Cam