Nitro RC Car and Truck Discussion Discuss nitro RC vehicles

Closed Thread

Old 01-16-2010, 03:44 PM   #1
moose200
RCC Junior Contributor

I am: Moose

Total Props: 1
Help

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Is there any one near Hanover Ont? I need help tuning my Savage X. I am new to this and would like some help, it also wont switch gears and I have tried doing it my self but wont work.

There is alot of money in the RC industry, I know because I put alot there!!
moose200 is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 02-28-2010, 08:19 PM   #2
bigfoot3387
RCC Noob

I am: harold

Total Props: 0
Re: Help

hi i not close but can help maby if you want post a pic of you carb get as close to each needle you can i mite be able to see in a pic if there off i think once you get it rite it should shift nicly let me know if i can help
bigfoot3387 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 02-28-2010, 08:58 PM   #3
Shawn68z
RCC Apprentice

Before you start tuning it, have you followed the procedure for breaking in the motor? You need to run atleast 5-6 tanks of fuel through the motor on a real rich setting (with full cool down in between) to work the motor in gently. Never bringing the engine to full throttle (keep it below 50%).

Once you have dont that, you should get a temperature gauge and slowly start working the high speed needle in one "hour" at a time, always making sure you have a small trail of greyish smoke out the exhaust. If you have a temp probe keep an eye on engine temps. Keep them below 250F. Once you have your high speed set, you can lean your low speed, and keep leaning it until the engine no longer bogs down when you go WOT from a stand still. Once it doesnt bog, you are real close. For bashing I wouldnt go any further.

As for gears. If its not shifting its probably shiftly so early that its always in second gear. You would want to screw the tranny screws in (1/4 at a time). Until you hear a shift.