New to Heli... Where to Start - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
General RC Heli Discussion Discuss general topics on rotary wing aircraft, including construction, Servo's, Gryo's and Stabilizer discussions. Heli Pro Shop

Old 08-16-2011, 12:06 AM   #1
4speedfury
RCC Noob

I am: James B
Radio of choice:
JR
# of RCs: 5

Total Props: 0
Question New to Heli... Where to Start

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Hi, I went to Gimli Model Fest last weekend and was lucky enough to get my wife to join me. I say lucky because she was so impressed with the helicopters there, that she told me to "get one of those. They're cool!" Problem is that I Haven't the foggiest idea where to start. What would be best for a total noob. I've flown fixed wing for years, but this is different. I know that much. I use both 72 MHx and 2.4 and both in JR/Spektrum. I have a Heli radio (JR X347) but don't know if that is still relevant. Any advice is appreciated.
PS: For the record, she thought Jets were cool too till the announcer blabbed how much they cost...Damn it!
4speedfury is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 08-16-2011, 08:08 AM   #2
Crass
RCC Junior Contributor

I am: Steve P
Radio of choice:
SpeKtrum
# of RCs: 19

Re: New to Heli... Where to Start

OH the question on what is best for a newbie ..
i am sure you will get 5 to 10 opinions and all of them will be well founded for sure.
I started with a CX3 , i found it easy to learn on but you out grow it in weeks. if i had the time back back . i would have gone with a SR120 and get a DX6i or a DX7 used.