RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
General RC Aircraft Discussion Discuss anything RC related

Closed Thread

Old 06-15-2006, 01:13 PM   #1
Mike Emilio
RCC Pro Contributor

Total Props: 0
Manufacturing Arrangements ???

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Two weeks ago I was approached by a company that showed an interest in manufacturing one of my designs. Yesterday, I took the day off work and went to the company to see if it was for real. Sure enough it's a small company that does fiberglass work. I spend a few hours there and the owner is quite serious on producing kits off my design.

My dilema . . . I've never done anything like his before.

- How do I charge the company?
- What exactly does "royalty" mean.
- How would I know how many kits the company sells? Should I care??
- What about kits sold "under the table" with no reciept??
- Should I possible ask for a flat rate of royalty per year??

Would anyone know of any web site that has a basic manufacturing agreement that can be downloaded and modified, without goingto a $$ lawer $$.
Anyone have any good ideas/advice to consider?????
Mike Emilio is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 06-15-2006, 01:28 PM   #2
WhoFan
RCC Junior Contributor

I am: JuanB

My 2¢, and I have never been in that situation, so its just a guess.

I guess look at the history of the company, BBB, see if they are willing to let you look at the books to see how many are sold and work out a %. Also, what are their projections. 10, 20, or less? still, a few $$ here and there would still be nice.

A fix rate, I dought that would happen. A small % of each item, maybe. I guess also if this company will sell in bulk or just manufacture it them self's and sell directly.
Lots of options, and maybe they just want to buy your design and that's it, and that would be just a lump sum.