Tips for Warbird Success (flying) - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Warbirds Place to discuss anything Warbird Related..... Fighter Planes, Fighter Jets, Fighter Helis and All Warbird Builds, etc.

Old 02-08-2014, 12:04 PM   #1
cf100
~~BANNED PEOPLE~~

I am: Ken K.
Radio of choice:
JR & Graupner
# of RCs: 999

Total Props: 251
Tips for Warbird Success (flying)

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Tips for Warbird Success (flying)............. share yours!

I'm a average builder and flyer so when I got into warbirds in the late early 80's, - detail scale was the way to go, I spent more time fixing my warbirds that flying - slowly I changed from complex and usually heavy, to simpler warbirds in my fleet plus the introduction of the Byron and Top Flite arfs helped a lot of us! Now every weekend is a WARBIRD SCRAMBLE.

I want fellow warbirder's to have success, nothing hurts like a crash especially on the maiden flight.

A few things I have learned from others over the years are:

* Get the balance right - some warbirds like Spitfires need a lot nose weight to balance correctly, my YA Spitfire took 2.75#, John Pirozek's Vallencourt Typhoon took over 6 pounds of lead.
Don't we just hate adding lead when the model is already starting to get over weight. DO IT and get the balance right, a first flight on a tail heavy warbird will usually re-kit itself.

* Dual RX batteries - most rc crashes are pilot error, second I would bet are from rx batteries failures, plus dual batteries offers some piece of mind, good info at http://www.hangtimes.com/rcbattery_faq.html

* Hot engines conk out, dead stick time - feeling that need to completely cowl in that scale Merlin if you think you engine is over heating, open some cooling holes, no one notices or knows about the cooling hole on my P-51A when flying - they'll be focused on that worm burner pass eh!