RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Fixed Wing Discuss fixed wing aircraft.

Closed Thread

Old 03-14-2010, 03:02 PM   #1
yinewang
RCC Apprentice

Total Props: 0
question about simulator

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Hi
I've been practicing on the simulator for about two months. (I'm practicing every single day). it seems like those aerobatic planes are a lot easier to fly (mostly landing, and turning) compare to those highwing trainers. i noticed aerobatics have much larger control surfaces which is always helpful for saving the plane at last second, where as for highwing trainers, you have to get it right at the first place otherwise hard to save. so does it make sense to get a real aerobatic as a trainer? and a question that i've considering for so long: how does simulator compare to real flight? are they almost the same? totally different? I've flying simulator, i've seen people fly real ones, and i still haven't quite catch it. the club's training program won't start till april but i can't wait to fly a real one. lol
thanks
Mark
yinewang is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 03-14-2010, 03:36 PM   #2
Nev
RCC Pro Contributor

I am: Nev

Total Props: 3
Re: question about simulator

What sim you flying ?

My 10 cents....

If you can take off fly a controlled circuit and land safely from both directions with a "boxed" approach you are set to enter the real world ! But I think sims will help you with orientation and I like them when I am practicing or learning something new but the real thing is a little more challenging, nerves, wind, vision, sounds, smells and rules will add to the mix but having your orientation 100% on the sim will be a big help when you get into real air.

Best of luck - welcome to the drug !!
Nev is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-14-2010, 03:53 PM   #3
static80
RCC Apprentice

I am: Myles S

It's good to hear that you're getting lots of sim time in.