RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Jet Aircraft Discuss Jets in Canada

Closed Thread
Old 04-09-2010, 01:11 PM   #1
RCC Apprentice
I am: jon r

Total Props: 0
Thrust vectoring

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Ok so I am still new to this hobby. So bear with the lack of proper usage of lingo and overall knowhow. I have been searching for an edf jet. In my searches I found a few that have trust vectoring. I saw a You tube video with a rafale with what appeared to be homemade flaps over the exaust (type rafale trust vectored in you tube) . I have also seen a factory produced thrust vector with an su-27.

thrust vectoring seems quite facinating, anyone own a plane with this? is it worth paying the extra over a regular jet?
electricottawa is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 04-09-2010, 02:12 PM   #2
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
I am: Gary L

Total Props: 30
Re: Thrust vectoring

It depends on the kind of flying you intend to do. With adequate control surfaces and airflow over them you can do extreme maneuvers, (light weight helps a lot, as our indoor guys can attest). Thrust vectoring really comes into its own when speed is so low the normal flight surfaces are ineffective.
I know there's money in aviation........I put it there!
Cougar429 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 04-09-2010, 02:51 PM   #3
RCC Contributor
I am: Rich H

Total Props: 2

to answer you basic question........yes, it's worth paying the extra over a regular jet. if that's the type of flying you enjoy. some jet purists will tell you that it's not very jet-like and only for showing off at airshows. as cool as it looks and as much as we are told that it can be used in combat, you aren't gonna see the Cobra being done in combat. the old fighter pilot saying is that speed and energy is life........stunts like the Cobra require bleeding speed and energy, which means being shot at.