Silver Soldering - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Construction Ideas, Hints and Tips For all the builders out there. Ask questions, make suggestions, trade tips.

Old 02-03-2011, 09:46 PM   #1
RCC Senior Contributor
I am: Chris K.

Total Props: 3
Silver Soldering

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I am looking for some advice on silver soldering/brazing. I have done a bit of reading on silver soldering and it looks like what I need to set up some flying wires for a biplane that I am going to build. I have never done silver soldering before and what I have read so far does not go into a lot of detail.

Any advice on the process/steps or suggestions as to where I can get more detailed information on the process would be appreciated. I already have a silver solder brazing kit, solder and flux, I now need some guidance on how to do it.

Cricklewood is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 02-03-2011, 10:25 PM   #2
RCC Master Contributor
I am: Randy
Radio of choice:
JR and Spectrum
# of RCs: 4

Total Props: 9
Re: Silver Soldering

First if you are using a true silver solder you will need a torch to obtain the heat needed. The low temp solder is not a true Silver solder.
The peices must be sanded, clean and have a tight fit. If there is any oils or contaminations your joint will fail or will not fill well. Apply the flux liberaly to the piece and apply heat the flux will start to flow around 500 degree's at that time apply the brazing rod to the piece and it should just flow right on. Try a practice piece to get the hang of it.
I think there are some youtube links also that will guide you.
mrrandyman is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 02-04-2011, 03:43 PM   #3
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Andrew Coholic
Radio of choice:
JR 12X

Total Props: 1
Re: Silver Soldering