What size to use? - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electronics Discuss radios, chargers, etc...

Old 03-02-2011, 03:32 PM   #1
RCC Master Contributor
I am: Randy
Radio of choice:
JR and Spectrum
# of RCs: 4

Total Props: 9
British Columbia What size to use?

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Ok I'm no expert when it comes to elecronics but I would like you folks to read the following and tell me if what he is saying is true then what is the use of buying these 2700 mah packs for my planes if they are not going to offer me any advantages. I should add that I want to use a couple packs in my giant Corsair because of all the equipment on board.
Thank you, here is the Quote from this fellow.

"Right now, NiMH batteries are about the best choice for transmitter packs and receiver packs in many models.

Caution must be observed when using hi-capacity NiMH cells (over 1650mAH in AA size) because these are more easily damaged by over-charging or charging at too high a current. I prefer to stick with a good quality 1650mAH transmitter pack and top them up at the field if needed (charging at up to 1.0A).

While the higher capacity NiMH cells (up to 2700mAH in AA size) might seem to be better, they will self-discharge more quickly when the gear is turned off and can only be charged at currents of about 250mAH -- making field-top-ups impractical.

And don't be tempted to use the hi-capacity AA cells for receiver packs on anything larger than a .40-sized sports model. The price you pay for this higher capacity is a decided tendency for the voltage to drop under load. There's always a risk that if the voltage drops enough, your receiver will stop working and you could lose control of the model (particularly true with 2.4GHz radio systems).