Wire guage/ type - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electric Flight Discuss Electric Flight in Canada

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2011, 10:23 AM   #1
RCC Pro Contributor
Myzee's Avatar
I am: Myles Jarvis
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Picton, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Futaba 9C

Feedback: 4 / 100%
Posts: 1,542
Total Props: 1
Elec Wire guage/ type

       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Wow, computer crash but finally back on line.
Regarding wire choice:
I need to make some extension wires, this may sound stupid but can I just go to the hardware store and get the appropriate stranded guage, or is there some type of magical lipo, esc, brushless motor wire I need to use? Does it even have to be stranded?
Howzitgoin' eh?
Myzee is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 05-28-2011, 10:28 AM   #2
RCC Expert Contributor
I am: R D
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kincardine

Feedback: 1 / 100%
Posts: 903
Total Props: 39
Re: Wire guage/ type

Finely stranded wire is nice and flexible which is a big plus when you have to stuff it into an airplane.
Helno is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-28-2011, 10:57 AM   #3
RCC Master Contributor
Midair's Avatar
I am: Peter M.
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: North Bay, ON
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 37

Feedback: 3 / 100%
Posts: 1,380
Total Props: 15
Re: Wire guage/ type


Your best bet is to use silicon coated wire. Hardware store wire is very stiff in comparison. Like Helno mentioned, silicon coated wire is very flexible and easily installed in fuselages. Also, use the same gauge wire that comes with your motor or ESC. You can go larger if you want, but avoid going smaller. Hobby King is just one of the many distributors that sell silicon covered wire, but it's been my experience that the strand count isn't as high as other manufacturers’ wire. Stick with stranded wire; solid wire is even more rigid than stranded hardware store wire. There may even be an efficiency factor in favour of stranded wire - I can't say for sure.

Peter Merkel
MAAC #22527

Murphy was an optimist; fly safe and have fun.
Midair is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-28-2011, 02:25 PM   #4
RCC Pro Contributor
Myzee's Avatar
I am: Myles Jarvis
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Picton, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Futaba 9C

Feedback: 4 / 100%
Posts: 1,542
Total Props: 1
Re: Wire guage/ type

Efficiency was something I was wondering about regarding stranded verses solid.
There is some heavy guage wire for extension cords that looks promising. Basically I need to go from the motor to esc in a straight line which is about 7 inches.
Howzitgoin' eh?
Myzee is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-28-2011, 05:36 PM   #5
RCC Contributor
CdnFlyer's Avatar
I am: Bill s
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Futaba 9CAP
# of RCs: 11

Feedback: 2 / 100%
Posts: 353
Total Props: 2
Re: Wire guage/ type

Definitely use stranded wire of the same or larger guage size.
Solid wire will become brittle and fail (open) with vibration or through the course of many small bending actions due to vibration.
Bill - Burlington Radio Control Modelers
MAAC - 47841L, IMAA - 31638, WMWA - CAN10
Married 42 years to a great wife who lets me go to the flying field and weekend events
I'm gonna have two more flights, but go home after the next one!!!!!
CdnFlyer is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to set pitch with no guage. craneman32 General RC Heli Discussion 12 04-24-2011 05:21 AM
align pitch guage..... tugboat FS - Other RC 2 03-03-2010 12:04 AM
align pitch guage. tugboat FS - Helicopters & MultiRotors 1 02-22-2010 12:13 PM
Align RC Pitch Guage sirkeen FS - Helicopters & MultiRotors 4 06-04-2009 08:29 PM
Pitch guage hs748 FS - Helicopters & MultiRotors 3 05-31-2007 10:06 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.