Fixed Wing Discuss fixed wing aircraft.

Old 10-09-2011, 11:55 AM   #1
RCC Apprentice
I am: Derek P
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 6

Total Props: 1
BiPlane Advice

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
My grandfather has passed down a biplane that he used to fly for years. It is in kinda of rough shape although appears to be mechanically sound. I am a relatively new pilot but I feel like I can handle this plane with a little help on what to expect. Right now my biggest concern is figuring out how to balance a biplane in general. I am not sure what this aircraft actually is so I am not sure where the cg is supposed to be. From what I have read Typical CG on a bipe is directly above the lower wings leading edge.....If anyone has some insight or advice on flying biplanes in general or even this plane specifically I would appreciate it.

Thank you
Derek Petre

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bip4.jpg
Views:	356
Size:	115.1 KB
ID:	121561   Click image for larger version

Name:	bip3.jpg
Views:	356
Size:	96.2 KB
ID:	121562   Click image for larger version

Name:	bip2.jpg
Views:	355
Size:	104.8 KB
ID:	121563   Click image for larger version

Name:	bip1.jpg
Views:	354
Size:	107.8 KB
ID:	121564  

rcplanedriver is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 10-10-2011, 10:02 AM   #2
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Cliff S
Radio of choice:
Hitec, Futaba - FM
# of RCs: 10

Total Props: 13
Re: BiPlane Advice

Taking into consideration the two different shape of the wing platforms I would guess the G of G should be half way between the lower leading edge and the lower front spar. The leading edge of the lower wing would probably be nose heavy, but it would be possible to fly it with the C of G there. Caution flying this aircraft without the cowling could cause serious control problems.