Electric Flight Discuss Electric Flight in Canada

Old 11-23-2011, 09:06 AM   #1
Thunder Chicken
RCC Senior Contributor
I am: Nathan C
Radio of choice:

Total Props: 3
Set-up for a 15# plane

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I am new to electrics and looking to learn! I've read some good stuff over on rcgroups and think I have the very basics sort of figured out.
Im looking to power a 8' span Otter. It should weigh about 15 lbs ready to fly. I do not want it to be powered like a 3D flyer, but a little extra never hurt!
I'm debating on buying good stuff, or hobbyking brand stuff. For the little i'll probably fly this model i'm leaning toward the Turnigy stuff.
I figured between 50-100 watts per pound is about right for a scale flying high winged floater like the otter, so average it to 75. So I should look to make about 1000-1200 watts to fly this plane nicely.
I figure this motor
or one with a different Kv rating so suit the rest of the set-up. I've found a 4 blade prop with on the ground adjustable pitch. I can go with a 15'' or 16-18'' depending on the hub.
Also, I'd like to keep the batteries small so I do not need a new charging system. maybe this is a silly idea, but would using 3s or 4s in series to get a 8 or 9s system be a bad idea?
(I have the turnigy 420 and accucell 6 for chargers)
Also, i think using a separate battery for the Rx would be a safe idea for this model as the weight penalty is no big deal and being new to electrics, i'm sure i'll fly it till the batteries are dead at least once. No need to loose the rx to a stupid mistake like that?? (I'm still on 72mhz so not as big of a worry for rx voltage like the 2.4 systems) Servos will all be analog also, but i'll feel safer with a rx pack.
I figure an 8s set-up, 5000mah 20c, on the above motor with an 80amp esc and the 15'' prop.
Am I pointing in the right direction?!!
Thunder Chicken is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.