Covering the rounded surfaces - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Construction Ideas, Hints and Tips For all the builders out there. Ask questions, make suggestions, trade tips.

Old 12-24-2011, 10:01 PM   #1
RCC Apprentice
I am: Qamar H
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 2

Total Props: 0
Covering the rounded surfaces

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!

I've been trying to monokote my Zlin (old version). The front is rounded and despite several attempts to monokote it wrinkle-free, I end up with wrinkles. I tried to breakdown the covering into smaller parts but still the rounded and a bit crocked upper surface of fuselage is comes out with wrinkles, not big but noticeable. I'm new to this. Can cover good on straight surfaces but this is really a problem for me. Have wasted almost half of my monokote sheet. Can someone share his/her ideas so that I can save the rest at least ?

Thanks in advance.
Happy Xmas & have great holidays.
RC-PLAYER is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 12-24-2011, 10:27 PM   #2
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Todd M
Radio of choice:
Hitec Aurora 9
# of RCs: 10

Total Props: 7
Re: Covering the rounded surfaces

Cut the peice larger then you need. Monokote needs to be pulled tight to get the smooth finish. curvesbcan be tricky. Do you have a heat gun or just an iron.
aceplant00 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 12-24-2011, 11:11 PM   #3
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
I am: Gary L

Total Props: 30

Despite it's tough seeming consistency, aceplant00 is correct. Most heat shrink covering has some give. It does take a bit of effort, and a lot of tape, to make the covering conform to contoured surfaces.