RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
General RC Aircraft Discussion Discuss anything RC related

Old 01-03-2012, 07:58 PM   #1
RCC Master Contributor
I am: John R
Radio of choice:

Total Props: 20
Scroll Saw help needed

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
So I am mostly self taught everything over the years but I have always called on guys that new what they were doing to tune me up on the fine points.

I have a variable speed Ryobi scroll saw that I have been using for a few years. I have used fine tooth blades for cutting steel/aluminum and ply. I have course blades and I have these round/unidirectional blades as well.

I am cutting out the wing supports/ers ( it's evident I can't recall the proper name, it's either age or the chemo, not the cabane but those things that go towards the outside of the wing), for my 1/4 Great lakes bipe out of 1/8th quality grade plywood. I am using the multi directional blade and BANG I break another blade. These things are 14" long and 7" wide so they are a good size.

My normal process is to make a photocopy or sketch what I need and spray stick it (using 3M super 77) to the ply. I then cut out the big piece to within 1/8 to 1/4 of the finish line. Then I finish cut close to the line, course sand the edges to the line and then do the fitting on the plane.

I seem to break a large number of blades. Is that normal?? Am I horsing it thru too hard. I tighten the blade till I get a nice "ping" when I pop the blade. It stays tight. Should I be using different blades?? I usually buy them at Home Depot or Rona.

I need a tune up I think. Who's got some pointers?
John Kovats

aka Johnny Versatile

MAAC 65460

Hespeler Model Aviators Inc.
Cambridge Float Flyers

I don't have the answers, but I have a personal relationship with the Guy that does.
JKovats is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 01-03-2012, 09:01 PM   #2
Nick Milligan
RCC Expert Contributor