What motor with what ESC?? - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electric Flight Discuss Electric Flight in Canada

Old 02-18-2012, 02:24 PM   #1
RCC Junior Contributor
I am: Andy Z

Total Props: 0
What motor with what ESC??

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I'm new to electrics, just bought a used sport plane with 42-50 650kv motor and 40A esc, using 4c 4000mah 4s lipos. Now that I've read all about lipos, I'm trying to learn what the numbers mean for the motor, specifically, how to determine what size of esc would fit what size motor. In my case for example, I'm thinking of mounting 40 size floats on this plane and figure I will want more power than it has now. I have no idea as to what size motor to get and what equivalent size esc. Is it typical that if you want a bigger motor you would also need a larger esc and batteries? Any charts that you can go by to see what fits what? And what's the "42-50" in my motor designation mean?
azsiros is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 02-18-2012, 02:36 PM   #2
RCC Senior Contributor
I am: David
Radio of choice:
Tactic TTX650
# of RCs: 12

Total Props: 4
Re: What motor with what ESC??

42mm is diameter of your motor 50mm is how long it is
If you're planning on way-overpowering your plane and "flying like a maniac", you might consider gluing the tail feathers down to avoid flutter.
paladin is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 02-18-2012, 02:46 PM   #3
RCC Junior Contributor
I am: Andy Z

Total Props: 0

Thanks, that was too easy! Now to figure out the rest...
azsiros is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 02-18-2012, 02:50 PM   #4
RCC Pro Contributor
I am: Gord C

Total Props: 7

For the ESC, you need to find the specs of the motor where they will show how many amps the motor rated for, if say, 20 amps, you would use a 30 amp ESC. A higher amp ESC won't hurt anything, it just adds weight.