Setup for kinetic 800 - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Sailplanes / Electro-gliders Discuss quiet flight in Canada.

Old 04-09-2012, 08:26 PM   #1
RCC Noob
I am: william f

Total Props: 0
Question Setup for kinetic 800

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I was thinking of getting the kinetic 800 from HK:

Can anyone recommend a good motor, servos, ESC and lipo pack for long flights at a park. Im new to this so im not sure if 2 or 3 cell batteries are better for long flights (either power or light weight?).

Thx in advance
382 is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 04-09-2012, 10:02 PM   #2
RCC Expert Contributor
I am: Moe N.

Total Props: 0
Smile Re: Setup for kinetic 800

I've got both Kinetic 800 and this Triwon EPO motor glider.

The Triwon became a favoured plane for its versatility and great flying characteristics. One can use it train new flyers, aerial photography with HK's wingcam, FPV flight with the Fat Shark system as well as basic aerobatics. Its a slightly bigger plane at 1200 mm, its easier to see and more forgiving. both planes will work with the same motor-esc setups. Mine is equipped with a Turnigy brush-less T2830-1000 motor, HK 25 amp speed control (overkill), 8x4 fixed APC prop (my folders won't fit my motor shaft), HK 2.4 gig radio set and 4 Hitec H55 servo's, When fed from a 1230 milliamp 3 cell battery pack this setup draws 100 watts. it draws 65 watts on a 2 cell 1000 milliamp pack. The 1000 milliamp pack needed a half ounce of lead to balance so I choose to fly with a 1500 milliamp 2 cell instead. The supplied decals went on easy but so would paint its all a matter of taste.

The Kinetic 800 is still a good plane, both fly well with the same motors, The Kinetic is just not quite as good as the Triwon for the above reasons.

Fly On!
Salutations from the Pacific North WET!