Stripped Gears On Tnx?? - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Offroad RC Discussion RC Offroad chat for truggies, buggies, short-course and more. Topics may include brands like Associated, Kyosho, Tamiya, Axial, Traxxas and more.

Closed Thread
Old 08-31-2005, 08:50 AM   #1
RCC Apprentice

Total Props: 0
Stripped Gears On Tnx??

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I bought a nitro tnx 4wd, and after the regular break in, on the first ride about 15 mins in, the transmission gear this a common problem?? i am new to the Hobby, i always has electrics, but nitro is a new world to me. Luckily it came with a replacement, but should i stock up on these things, or is it possible to get one not made out of plastic??

crash688 is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 08-31-2005, 08:53 AM   #2
RCC Master Contributor

you mean the big gear (spur gear)? it can be prevented if the the clutch bell and that big gear are properly meshed together
Moved to air

Current : Align TREX 450 PRO VBAR 4s....fastest 450 in toronto.
Outrage Velocity 50 OS 55 beast!
imported_REVOS5 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-31-2005, 08:56 AM   #3
RCC Contributor

It can be common on the TNX for this to happen. Biggest thing is to make sure you have all the engine screws tight as well as keep an eye on the rest of the chassis screws as they can back out and cause the chassis to flex and change the gear mesh that way. Also even though you can't really adjust the mesh there's still enough play in the holes that when you go to tighten the engine down push it towards the front left corner of the truck for the right mesh.