New to Nitro - Looking for recommendation on what to get - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Offroad RC Discussion RC Offroad chat for truggies, buggies, short-course and more. Topics may include brands like Associated, Kyosho, Tamiya, Axial, Traxxas and more.

Closed Thread
Old 06-29-2007, 05:28 PM   #1
RCC Noob

Total Props: 0
New to Nitro - Looking for recommendation on what to get

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Alright I'm new to the world of nitro and I'd like to get an RTR truggy or low ground clearance monster truck. I was wondering what you guys would recommend. It'll be used for mostly bashing but I will be taking it to the local track a couple times a month.

I was debatting about the following MT & Truggies
Losi 8T - Spectrum radio but EXPENSIVE
Losi Muggy
OFNA Jammin

Cheaper options
XTM Mammoth
Duratrax Warhead or Blaze ST
Kyosho Inferno ST-S

I'd love to get the 8T and be completely setup but for the price I could easily get a Duratrax Warhead and add a DSM radio for far less money. I'd like to spend less then 500 if at all possible (although if it's worth it for the Revo or Jammin, then I might spend that little extra).

Anyways some advice for a beginner would be nice.
dryankem is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 06-29-2007, 05:33 PM   #2
RCC Contributor

I would say lst2 all the way (it can be lowered), but a warhead, muggy or even a revo would do...the warhead looks good, but i would go with what ur local hobby shop carries as in if replacememnt parts are avaible often...If you wanted the 8ight-t, that would more of a racer than anything else...

but if really want the 8-t you could always go to ebay...
B4 -stealth
Fordzilla is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 06-29-2007, 05:38 PM   #3
RCC Junior Contributor