os rg 21 - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Nitro, Gas, Lipo chat (RC Car & Truck) All things related to Nitro, Electric & Gas motors... Tuning, experiences, setups and more.

Closed Thread
Old 03-07-2009, 07:21 PM   #1
RCC Apprentice

Total Props: 0
os rg 21

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
i have 2 os rg's in 2 of my buggy's, im new to the race scene but not new to rc nitro, just curious on your thoughts of the os rg 21, quality, carb settings, best temp range, ext. i am running these motors in thunder tiger eb4 - s3 buggies, thanks for the help
akramer007 is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 03-07-2009, 07:39 PM   #2
RCC Contributor

O.S. staple

pm GUMP, he has a good amount of experience with this engine.
i have one, and it still runs great for being an older engine, i ran it around 220, with the stock heat sink, if you use the nova head don't go over 200. Great engine, easy too tune, and holds a tune good. it is a perfect engine to start out racing with.
Greg jones
1nferno is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-07-2009, 11:21 PM   #3
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Brian Belanger

Total Props: 1
I totally agree. this in my opinion was the most under rated motor ever made. it wasn't particularly long lasting, but was reliable, consistant and provided plenty of torque and even rpm when tuned properly. Its obviously slightly lacking when compared to monsters like the v-spec or the speed, but is absolutely no slouch on the track.
if you can afford a 2013 pipe, get one - this motor LOVES the 2013.... especially the Werks 2013. It gets on the pipe immediately off idle and just rips!
I strongly suggest 30% nitro, but choose a quality fuel like Byrons, Werks, TQ seemed to work well.... avoid the pink sidewinder.... doesnt work well with this motor. The 8% sidewinder clear fuel is just fine too.