1/8th KV - Why change? - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Nitro, Gas, Lipo chat (RC Car & Truck) All things related to Nitro, Electric & Gas motors... Tuning, experiences, setups and more.

Old 03-18-2011, 10:38 AM   #1
MikeZ
RCC Contributor

Total Props: 0
1/8th KV - Why change?

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Hey all! I am new to 1/8th Electric and would like to know a little more about KV rating and what is a good choice.

I was told that at the Can Champs coming up most people use 1700-2050kv rating.

My question would be why would I get one over the other? I do understand what KV rating does however does it also effect torque?

With the 'turbo' functionality why wouldn't I just go with a lower KV(more torque?) and then boost for more top speed depending on track?

I will be making a purchase soon so I just want to buy the best that will fit my needs.
MikeZ is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 03-18-2011, 11:03 AM   #2
tekno
RCC Pro Contributor

I am: Ashton P

lower kv more torque less speed, higher kv the more top end less torque. Also they are short and long can motors. The long can motors are for truggy and produce more torque than the shorter cans. The short can motors are more for buggy. The higher KV motors need good lipos as well at least 35C and up imo.

Added: I see allot of people with 1700kv or 1900kv when you have a higher kv (ex 2050) motor the power could become too much to handle especially when you race the 1700 or 1900 has a good balance of torque and speed and you can control the car better because, there not too much power but just enough and also i think there more efficient.

bottom line

higher kv= wants speed and to bash
lower kv= more control and wants to race

This is my opinion.
tekno is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-18-2011, 11:06 AM   #3
Aronek
RCC Apprentice

Hi MikeZ,