Ikon Self Leveling - Page 2 - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electric RC Helis Discuss helicopters, setups and power systems for electric helicopters.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2015, 01:15 PM   #11
Kibbs
RCC Apprentice
 
I am: Wayne K
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Oro-Medonte, Ontario, Canada
Radio of choice:
Spektrum DX 6
# of RCs: 6

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 36
Total Props: 0
Re: Ikon Self Leveling


       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Hey guys, sorry to resurrect such an old thread but I have my 500 completed and have the IKON on board as well. Setting up was pretty straight forward but I am curious about the self level function. I have a DX6 Radio it may well be that I am at the limit and could not setup this as it may require another channel since the gyro took one, true statement? I've looked at a couple of videos and the guys are going through mixing setups, I thought this would me simpler than that. Any advise is good.

Thanks

Wayne
Kibbs is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 06-28-2015, 02:11 AM   #12
FaisalHeli's
RCC Apprentice
 
I am: Faisal A
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Montreal
Radio of choice:
Dx8
# of RCs: 6

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 74
Total Props: 0
Re: Ikon Self Leveling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kibbs View Post
Hey guys, sorry to resurrect such an old thread but I have my 500 completed and have the IKON on board as well. Setting up was pretty straight forward but I am curious about the self level function. I have a DX6 Radio it may well be that I am at the limit and could not setup this as it may require another channel since the gyro took one, true statement? I've looked at a couple of videos and the guys are going through mixing setups, I thought this would me simpler than that. Any advise is good.

Thanks

Wayne

You might want to not dedicate a channel for the gyro on the TX and have it set from the software only(there is this option).
Before setting autolevel, here are 3 steps that will not result in a crash.
1. Make sure that the heli is 100% leveled when you choose"set level". I put the heli on the floor not a table as it might be slightly tilted.
2. After assigning for autolevel, be sure to check it before you fly it. Tie up the heli to anything that would hold it steady to the ground, take all main, tail blades off. And simply spool up and then hit AutoLevel and see how the swash reacts. if its not stable( tilting forward or back or whatever), thats when you do step 3.
3. Take a nitro fuel line, and put a zip tie in it, and secure the Ikon with it to eliminate vibs. Use two in a + shape on top of the unit and it will keep it pretty stable.
FaisalHeli's is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-08-2015, 11:11 AM   #13
braydubya
RCC Apprentice
 
I am: Brayden W
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Radio of choice:
DX9
# of RCs: 20

Feedback: 2 / 100%
Posts: 65
Total Props: 0
Re: Ikon Self Leveling

Make sure you've got plenty of altitude for that first test...

I learned the hard way by not having dead level when I chose "set level"
braydubya is offline   Quick reply to this message.
 
Old 09-21-2015, 06:21 AM   #14
rnst2
RCC Apprentice
 
I am: ernesto
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: surrey
Radio of choice:
spektrum
# of RCs: 20

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 96
Total Props: 0
Re: Ikon Self Leveling

soko kit helps!
rnst2 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 10-01-2015, 05:48 PM   #15
stinker
RCC Apprentice
 
I am: Terry S
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maple Ridge, B.C.

Feedback: 2 / 100%
Posts: 44
Total Props: 0
Re: Ikon Self Leveling

I thought I had a problem with my 450 Dominator. It kept wanting to go left and backwards. Had me puzzled for a while until I realized I had the self leveling switch turned on.
I guess I didn't have it leveled either. Lucky it didn't do anything drastic that I couldn't control.
stinker is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-21-2016, 10:32 AM   #16
steeleagle
RCC Apprentice
 
I am: Lyle H
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Sidney, BC
Radio of choice:
Spektrum DX9
# of RCs: 4

Feedback: 1 / 100%
Posts: 47
Total Props: 4
Re: Ikon Self Leveling

Mine is set up on my Goblin 500. I have a "recovery mode" set up on my trainer button on my DX8. Works very well and has saved my heli more than once
steeleagle is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-21-2016, 06:14 PM   #17
akabek
RCC Expert Contributor
 
akabek's Avatar
 
I am: Rick B
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Keswick, ON
Radio of choice:
Graupner MZ-24

Feedback: 33 / 100%
Posts: 837
Total Props: 0
Re: Ikon Self Leveling

Ikon is coming out with a firmware update targeted for the end of next month where you will no longer have to setup the rescue feature. It will just work.
akabek is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-21-2016, 08:16 PM   #18
steeleagle
RCC Apprentice
 
I am: Lyle H
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Sidney, BC
Radio of choice:
Spektrum DX9
# of RCs: 4

Feedback: 1 / 100%
Posts: 47
Total Props: 4
Re: Ikon Self Leveling

Looking forward to the update
steeleagle is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-21-2016, 09:52 PM   #19
akabek
RCC Expert Contributor
 
akabek's Avatar
 
I am: Rick B
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Keswick, ON
Radio of choice:
Graupner MZ-24

Feedback: 33 / 100%
Posts: 837
Total Props: 0
Re: Ikon Self Leveling

There are videos out and it looks like it works well. I am looking forward to it. I am sure it will save my bacon a few times.
akabek is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 03-22-2016, 11:46 AM   #20
Max
Administrator
★ Site Supporter ★★ Administrator ★
 
Max's Avatar
 
I am: Max P.
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Aurora, Ontario
Radio of choice:
JR and Spektrum

Feedback: 21 / 100%
Posts: 13,845
Total Props: 154
Re: Ikon Self Leveling

Quote:
Originally Posted by akabek View Post
There are videos out and it looks like it works well. I am looking forward to it. I am sure it will save my bacon a few times.
I've tested mine a few times from awkward positions and it does work. My setup is not 100% so it does translate a little when using the bailout, but that is nothing IMHO. Still, I would prefer to have it sitting steady after the bailout feature is used. I know, I know... I need to double check my swash is 100% level when I programmed the bailout. Its still on my to-do list.

I'm looking forward to the upgrade. When it comes out, whomever hears about it first please let us all know here!! I'm itching to see how it works compared to the current firmware
__________________
RC Test Pilot; FPV Instructor, Airplane Instructor; Helicopter Instructor

My Aircraft Albums: http://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/album.php?u=13173

Last Photo added: Dec 15; Warwing Foamy for FPV
Max is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Location
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.