Failsafe Notice - Page 2 - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
MAAC Model Aeronautics Association of Canada discussion area.

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2014, 08:59 PM   #11
RCC Junior Contributor
I am: Darth
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Aurora ON
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 12

Feedback: 1 / 100%
Posts: 226
Total Props: 4
Re: Failsafe Notice

       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Sounds like how they run system security around work (computer and network). Change the setting, reset the systems, force the situation and see what happens.

Best practice in this case appears be to force a reset on a plane after changing the settings for the model. If the failsafe reset trakes place on bind, great. If it's on a "force reset" command, great. You know that fail-safe is set properly, not left it to chance and memory.

RTFM in all situations (read the fine manual, that is.)
strikemaster is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 09-20-2014, 04:42 AM   #12
RCC Junior Contributor
I am: Kevin M
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Calgary
Radio of choice:
Hitec A9
# of RCs: 12

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 150
Total Props: 2
Re: Failsafe Notice

Sounds like different radio brands treat "fail safe" differently, but I assume all major brands; JR, Futaba, Hitec, Airtronics and the like have these features, I wonder if some of the more recent entries and less expensive systems do?

Also the "fail safe" feature must be part of the rx capability, perhaps set through the tx but at the end of the day carried out by the rx.
kaptain is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-20-2014, 05:50 AM   #13
RCC Master Contributor
itizme's Avatar
I am: Steve W.
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Angus
Radio of choice:
Futaba MZ, Futaba SZ

Feedback: 41 / 100%
Posts: 1,444
Total Props: 14
Re: Failsafe Notice

Adding to the Futaba being able to choose the ability to failsafe a channel you also have that ability on some of the PowerBox systems. I suspect this is best in a dual receiver setup because the PowerBox continually selects the receiver with the best signal and if that fails ( I understand three years of testing with no such event) the Powerbox will go into your preprogrammed failsafe moode.
MAAC 37964, IMAA 20680, IMAC 7194
itizme is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-20-2014, 10:20 AM   #14
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Scott R
Join Date: May 2012
Location: VICTORIA
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 20

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 2,014
Total Props: 22
Re: Failsafe Notice

failsafe is integral to aircraft with autopilot + gps. Turns control over to the autopilot for auto return to circle overhead (or auto land at pre determined spot). Some autopilot do not control throttle so I have to set throttle to a cruise setting on failsafe. Failsafe on my radios is either a button on the receiver or a button on the transmitter. I see the new Scherrer radios now offer a multi-step 'sequential' failsafe option. Lots of testing for any failsafe is needed.
bcsaltchucker is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 09-22-2014, 07:25 PM   #15
RCC Noob
I am: Daniel Dupont
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manitoba

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 6
Total Props: 0
Re: Failsafe Notice

On the Jeti you can set the fail for each individual channels to what ever you like and it will follow the trim of the model if you set at neutral for the surface, that is what I do....and kill the throttle.....
Daniel D.
dansy is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.