Jeti Owners: would you use an R3/Switch setup - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Jet Aircraft Discuss Jets in Canada

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2015, 08:04 AM   #1
Mike Anderson
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
Mike Anderson's Avatar
I am: Mike Anderson
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kemptville ON
Radio of choice:
JETI DS-16 (was Airtronics SD10G)
# of RCs: >20

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 357
Total Props: 1
Jeti Owners: would you use an R3/Switch setup

       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I'm curious what other Jeti radio system users might say about using the R3/Switch Rx into the DSM10 switch. I've done some ground testing with this setup and it's been flawless. Just power the Tx and flip a switch to turn on the onboard system.

If I accidentally move the Tx switch to the 'system off' position, I have 5 seconds to confirm that I really want it off, otherwise it ignores the 'system off' switch setting and keeps the system powered up. In this case, when I want to really shut it down, I would have to throw the switch to 'on' then 'off' again and answer the confirmation request.

Current drain is practically zero, I would not disconnect the batteries until the end of the season.

Any comments? Have any of you flown with this setup yet?

Phelan RC Flying Club - Manotick ON
Rideau Valley Modellers - Kemptville ON
Jeti DS-16
Lovin Giant Scale & trying Jets ...
MAAC 17752L, IMAC 5984
Mike Anderson is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 05-10-2015, 10:06 AM   #2
RCC Junior Contributor
I am: Peter W.
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ottawa, ON.
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: >25

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 180
Total Props: 1
Re: Jeti Owners: would you use an R3/Switch setup

I've not yet flown that setup but intend to use it in several scale aircraft.
No more holes or hatches to hide the switches!
Gizmoman is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-10-2015, 11:52 AM   #3
RCC Pro Contributor
luv2flyrc's Avatar
I am: Mike B.
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mississauga, Ont.
Radio of choice:
Spektrum Dx-18G2, Jeti DS-16 Carbon Red

Feedback: 9 / 100%
Posts: 1,693
Total Props: 2
Re: Jeti Owners: would you use an R3/Switch setup

I just installed the R3 switch in my Skymaster F4 Phantom. I haven't flown it yet but, I can't see any issues with it.

Phantoms Phorever
luv2flyrc is online now   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-10-2015, 01:08 PM   #4
Authorized Vendor
★ Vendor ★
grizak's Avatar
I am: Jeff K
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Windsor, ON

Feedback: 20 / 100%
Posts: 993
Total Props: 8
Re: Jeti Owners: would you use an R3/Switch setup

I've been using the R3 switch in conjunction with a Central Box 200 Setup since last season in a 122" Yak 55M - you can see the install details here:

No problems - works very well. As a switch, the R3 has a distance limitation of around 20 feet or so. So even if you accidentally flipped the transmitter switch off, and accidentally "confirmed" the selection with Yes - it still wouldn't shut the plane off unless it was within 20 feet or so from you.

For Gas engine users - combine this with a Ultra IBEC - found here: to properly eliminate your ignition battery and switch - and allow you to turn your ignition on/off from your transmitter - this will eliminate all external switches from your airplane.

Really nice setup, especially for scale models.
Check out the Thunder Hangar Blog!!
grizak is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-12-2015, 10:48 AM   #5
RCC Noob
I am: Daniel Dupont
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Manitoba

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 6
Total Props: 0
Re: Jeti Owners: would you use an R3/Switch setup

I will be using them this summer.....but I have installed another Lock switch just for the RX R3, so it cannot be accidentally turn off.
Daniel D.
dansy is offline   Quick reply to this message.


Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 PM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.