Electric Flight Discuss Electric Flight in Canada

Closed Thread
Old 05-20-2004, 12:17 PM   #1
Newbie flyer
RCC Junior Contributor
I am: Brad B

Total Props: 0
What do I buy to start

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I have never flown a plane before and would like to try it out. I don't want the expense of a glow plug plane right now and have been looking at Hobby Zone's Commander. I was speaking with a R/C pilot who told me electric planes will not help me when I switch to gas. Is this true? What do people think of the Commander as a first plane? Are they worth the little money they charge or are they a "toy"? Thank you for your help
Newbie flyer is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 05-20-2004, 12:33 PM   #2
RCC Supreme Contributor
I am: Jim McIntyre
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 999

Total Props: 1
I have no experience with the Commander but I find the blanket statement about electric planes to be very uninformed. My first RC aircraft was neither electric or gas, it was a sailplane (glider) and was, in my opinion, the best trainer I could have chosen.

I suggest you find a club near you, many clubs will have a training program and even equipment they will let you try.

If I can be of any further help, feel free to contact me.

MAAC# 12719
Si fractum non sit, noli id reficere - (If it ain't broke, don't fix it).
JimMcIntyre is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-20-2004, 01:42 PM   #3
RCC Expert Contributor
I am: Rob C

I wasn't aware it was a rule that you had to switch to gas! If you want to eventually fly with glow power though there would be a certain advantage moneywise to starting in that direction.

As Jim says, sometimes your first and best plane isn't your average .40 size glow trainer. I started with an Electra (electric powered glider) in '91 and to this day I think it was the aircraft that I got the most benefit from. I certainly had the most fun with it.