RCV Engine - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Engines Discuss engines

Closed Thread
Old 07-15-2004, 02:22 PM   #1
RCC Apprentice

Total Props: 0
RCV Engine

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
For space reasons I bought 2 RCV60-SP to power a CL-415 96" wingspan. Does anybody have any experience with these engines. Good or bad?
cl-415 is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 07-22-2004, 08:22 AM   #2
RCC Junior Contributor

RCV Experience...

I have one driving my new .40 size spitfire. I am a relative novice with engines (and planes), so take my comments with some salt.

Here is my basic rundown...
The difference between idle and WOT is 1200 to 5300 RPM for the prop. I have not been able to get a reliable idle below 1400RPM. The engine is still new though with about 4 tanks through it (two tanks as part of break-in procedure). The idle IS getting better.

The problem with the 1200RPM idle is that you are driving props with about 12inch pitches... thus, you are looking at a pretty powerful idle. It is pretty hard to slow the plane down with a 1200RPM 12" pitch. (that's about 35kph idle....)

I had to be really careful with the idle needle. The factory set would not idle less than 2200.

Once I got the idle relaible, and relatively slow, it is a wonderful engine. The layout is pretty "cool". The ability to swing big props is great fopr scale, especially 3 and 4 bladed props that are still big. Watch out for the noise though, it really makes a racket. Others at the field will wonder ig it is going to fly apart. People ar not accustomed to the noise of the meshing gears. It also "clicks" at idle, and "knocks" at mid-high throtle.

if only...
gus is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 07-22-2004, 04:14 PM   #3
RCC Apprentice

I had the 60 RCV. It was a pretty cool motor. A couple of things I noticed were,,