Quad esc question - Page 2 - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Multi Rotor Discussion Tri's, Quad's, Hex'as and more. Discuss anything multi-rotor, including multi-rotor stabilization and FPV setups.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2016, 10:00 PM   #11
uberjay
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
 
I am: Jason U
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: London, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Spektrum DX8
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 15 / 100%
Posts: 1,463
Total Props: 9
Re: Quad esc question


       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warbird_ace View Post
3. this esc is now hardwired at both ends, is it absolutely necessary that they be encased in heat shrink? Is there an option I can do to avoid having to disassemble everything again?
You can do what you want, but be careful that you insulate the ESC's from any carbon frame you might be putting them on. Carbon is conductive.

As to the solder job - yeah, they almost all are shoddy, but the extra solder on the motor leads is actually not a bad thing. Those are on the outputs of the FETs that are basically where all the power is coming from. If you're pulling lots of amps then a thin trace of solder might melt quicker than a big blob under stress. At least in theory anyway - and that's my excuse for not wasting time resoldering it all . LOL

Cheers,
J
__________________
MAAC# 32586
Hobbyking.com Buddy Codes: All my buddy-codes on RCSearch.info
London Wind Mapper Weather
uberjay is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 05-09-2016, 05:25 AM   #12
Warbird_ace
RCC Expert Contributor
 
I am: Adam S
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Barrie area, ON

Feedback: 3 / 100%
Posts: 845
Total Props: 1
Re: Quad esc question

Todd - thats amazing, excellent QC there.
Theory sounds good too Jason, if it works it works.
My biggest concern is these things shorting out and lighting up. If there isn't a big risk of that I'll just re-wrap it and go for it.
__________________
Adam S.
Warbird_ace is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-18-2016, 06:10 PM   #13
Warbird_ace
RCC Expert Contributor
 
I am: Adam S
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Barrie area, ON

Feedback: 3 / 100%
Posts: 845
Total Props: 1
Re: Quad esc question

So I have another question regarding these units.
I've gotten everything mounted and re-soldered, in the process of programming my FC, it's a CC3D.
New issue - while programming the throttle end points, one esc continually runs even after the lowest pulse rate is set (960). 3 other motors stop at around 1030-ish, however motor 1 runs continuously for about 5 seconds after the 3 remaining motors stop.
Am I missing something here in my programming? I've even re-programmed the ESC's and factory reset the settings. Also, this wasn't the ESC I expressed concerns about earlier.
Any thoughts greatly appreciated.

Darin - did you have any issues with motor 1 not stopping?
__________________
Adam S.
Warbird_ace is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-19-2016, 05:17 AM   #14
Warbird_ace
RCC Expert Contributor
 
I am: Adam S
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Barrie area, ON

Feedback: 3 / 100%
Posts: 845
Total Props: 1
Re: Quad esc question

One thing I forgot to mention - the motor/esc with the problem happens to be the same one thats powering the cc3d. Coincidence?
__________________
Adam S.
Warbird_ace is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 05-21-2016, 08:26 PM   #15
Warbird_ace
RCC Expert Contributor
 
I am: Adam S
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Barrie area, ON

Feedback: 3 / 100%
Posts: 845
Total Props: 1
Re: Quad esc question

Ok I've sorta figured this out, but not really...
I dismantled everything, soldered servo leads back on, plugged them into a regular receiver, and managed to factory reset everything back to normal. None of the motors continually ran after throttle off. After plugging everything back in, re-assembling, and plugging into the computer, I pushed thru the end point adjustments, and just "averaged" the low end point for the 1 motor that still runs for 5 seconds after throttle off. Programming completed, test flying still has 1 motor that runs continuously for 5 secs after throttle off.

I'll chalk this up to a FC anomaly and continue digging for answers......
__________________
Adam S.
Warbird_ace is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 10-14-2016, 01:04 PM   #16
Warbird_ace
RCC Expert Contributor
 
I am: Adam S
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Barrie area, ON

Feedback: 3 / 100%
Posts: 845
Total Props: 1
Re: Quad esc question

Today I dismantled the frame to attempt to tidy up the wiring and noticed that the heat shrink around all 4 esc's appears to be slightly brown, almost burnt looking at the edges of each esc. Are these things supposed to run that hot? Or is there a chance my esc's are shot after I re-soldered wires to the board? They all operate normally, other than that one that still continually runs after throttle off.
__________________
Adam S.
Warbird_ace is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 10-17-2016, 11:57 AM   #17
hk4fvj
RCC Noob
 
I am: Al M
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Milton, On
Radio of choice:
Futaba
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 0 / 0%
Posts: 9
Total Props: 0
Re: Quad esc question

ESC cables shall remain as possible the original length. This is a dc to three-phase AC converter. All is impedance. If anything has tobe changed, then it has to be recalculcated. I remember one day installing an expensive digital X-Ray System, one of the smart guys decided to replace the tube cables (AC from inverter like the ESC) with longer cables. We had a fantastic fireworks show.
hk4fvj is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 10-17-2016, 01:25 PM   #18
cravenjw
RCC Master Contributor
 
I am: John C
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ontario
Radio of choice:
Jeti DS-16
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 37 / 100%
Posts: 1,226
Total Props: 18
Re: Quad esc question

Quote:
Originally Posted by hk4fvj View Post
ESC cables shall remain as possible the original length. This is a dc to three-phase AC converter. All is impedance. If anything has tobe changed, then it has to be recalculcated. I remember one day installing an expensive digital X-Ray System, one of the smart guys decided to replace the tube cables (AC from inverter like the ESC) with longer cables. We had a fantastic fireworks show.
Might be true for X-ray machines, but you can change the motor and power esc lead lengths! In fact, many of the top rated quad esc are being sold bare with no leads on the motor side and in some cases no power or signal leads!
__________________
This hobby is a Slickness!
cravenjw is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 10-20-2016, 07:34 PM   #19
Warbird_ace
RCC Expert Contributor
 
I am: Adam S
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Barrie area, ON

Feedback: 3 / 100%
Posts: 845
Total Props: 1
Re: Quad esc question

From the research I've done (and also corroborated by others here), battery leads should be as short as possible. As someone described in a previous post, the effect of suddenly stopping the motors from spinning is similar in context to the effect of water hammer (that sound you get from your pipes when you shut off a tap too quick). The capacitors are supposed to act as these "hammer arrestors" and stop power spikes into the esc.

That being said, I've left my esc's in the frame, and reduced the size of the props. No more funny smells, and they are no longer hot.
__________________
Adam S.
Warbird_ace is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Location
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.