I'm done with electric starters! Did you know this??? - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
General RC Aircraft Discussion Discuss anything RC related

Closed Thread
Old 10-06-2004, 10:39 AM   #1
RCC Contributor

Total Props: 0
I'm done with electric starters! Did you know this???

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I've been flying for a few years now and I've always used an old Hobbico electric starter on all my engines. But, as you all know, power cords are a pain an they can be a hazzard around spinning props.
Recently I saw a guy at the field with an OS61 starting the engine by hand. I was amazed that it was possible until I saw his fingers. He was missing the tips of a few and had broken finger nails too. Ugly! Nonetheless I was intrigued so I tried a few things.
The real difficulty it getting the engine through compression is by pushing on the sharp trailing edge of the prop. But, I found that I don't need to do that. If I bounce the engine off of the first compression in the wrong direction (with enough speed), the engine will fire and then start in the right direction. This worked well on my 91FX so I do it all the time.
Here is the fantastic part! I just bought a new 46AX. I used the electric started on the first day to break it in and then it occurred to me to try it by hand. Of course, it works perfectly. I've now made about 5 trips to the field with various planes and I have not once used the electric starter. Yes, you can start a cold engine this way. The other evening it was down around 5C (40F) and I had no problems.

Here's the procedure:

If your fingers touch the prop at any point, you are doing it wrong!

-Fuel the plane and secure the tail.
-Leave the glow heater off! Open the carb 100%. Put your finger over the carb and rotate the prop through compression a few times until the fuel lines are primed and some fuel has entered the base.
-Set throttle to high idle.