Cortex with multiple servo wing - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Giant Scale Aircraft Discuss Giant RC Scale Aircraft.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2016, 08:43 AM   #1
Jsp
RCC Senior Contributor
 
Jsp's Avatar
 
I am: Jason P
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kitchener
Radio of choice:
Jeti DS16 Green

Feedback: 23 / 100%
Posts: 641
Total Props: 5
Cortex with multiple servo wing


       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Hey guys,

So I'm just curious how you guys run the cortex gyro on a multiple servo wing?

Thinking about putting it in an airplane which has 2 servos on each aileron.

Do you guys just use a Y harness after the cortex? Use use a match box?

The geometry of the aileron linkage doesn't require servo matching so I don't think a match box is necessary.

Let me know what you gurus think
__________________
Go Propless!
Jsp is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 06-17-2016, 09:13 AM   #2
cravenjw
RCC Master Contributor
 
I am: John C
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ontario
Radio of choice:
Jeti DS-16
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 37 / 100%
Posts: 1,226
Total Props: 18
Re: Cortex with multiple servo wing

I have 3 planes with cortex and dual ail servos. I used matchbox in 2 planes and intellimatch in another. Only thing I would say is don't run all power thru cortex. I only run tail servo power thru cortex. I only run ail signal thru cortex. Ail power to balancers does not pass thru cortex.
__________________
This hobby is a Slickness!
cravenjw is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 06-17-2016, 09:34 AM   #3
Jsp
RCC Senior Contributor
 
Jsp's Avatar
 
I am: Jason P
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kitchener
Radio of choice:
Jeti DS16 Green

Feedback: 23 / 100%
Posts: 641
Total Props: 5
Re: Cortex with multiple servo wing

Hey John,

Thanks for the reply, you're one of the guys I was hoping would see the thread haha

I agree on not running all the power through the cortex. How do you get around that? Juse separate the power wires from the signal wire and plug it into the cortex? Then the power wires into a power source?
__________________
Go Propless!
Jsp is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 06-17-2016, 10:48 AM   #4
cravenjw
RCC Master Contributor
 
I am: John C
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ontario
Radio of choice:
Jeti DS-16
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 37 / 100%
Posts: 1,226
Total Props: 18
Re: Cortex with multiple servo wing

I posted this on Jeti thread on RCGroups about a year ago.
I know a couple Jeti guys are doing similar schemes based on it.

I use a Jeti CB200 on most of my planes. Here are some concept pics of a scheme i did one of my planes.

I breakout the signal wire of an ail extension.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0607.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	613.1 KB
ID:	980641

I splice in the signal wire of the cortex signal input harness.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0608.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	598.3 KB
ID:	980649

I add a JR connector to the loose signal wire on the extension and plug it into the output side of cortex.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0611.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	549.1 KB
ID:	980657

This scheme would work fine with any RX or brand.

But be warned about the JETI CB200. It has short circuit protection one each servo channel. It uses Polyfuses rated for a little less than 5A. You should not use two servos on one wire rated more than 200oz.in or they will likely trip the short protection when stalled or during violent full throw flying. A big 500oz.in servo like MKS777 stalls at approx 4.0-4.2amps. Wagging the ails violently during the balancing setup of a matchbox, i was able to kick in the polyfuse protection. It goes into a "burned out" low power mode, the servos trying to wake, but then re-brown, it would not reset until i pulled one servo off the circuit. Luckily i found this on the bench and not it the air!!!

I add a second extension from a second CB200 channel that goes to the aux power on a matchbox or other balancer. The load is divided across two polyfuses. With the extra have had no issues with 3 planes and 100s of flights. Note this extra extension is not shown in the pics.
__________________
This hobby is a Slickness!

Last edited by cravenjw; 06-17-2016 at 10:53 AM.
cravenjw is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 10-14-2016, 12:23 PM   #5
artchristic2
RCC Apprentice
 
I am: Eugene Christopher
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bois-des-filion, Quebec
Radio of choice:
JR
# of RCs: 1

Feedback: 1 / 100%
Posts: 68
Total Props: 2
Re: Cortex with multiple servo wing

HI;

I also use the cortex.
Running power through it is not an issue.
If power dies you will loose it anyways.
I use the powerbox unit runing on 7.4 Lipo with 6volts running through it ``cortex``
in all my jets and there was never an issue.
F-18, L-39,F-4,and now the CT-114 Tutor.
It is a personal decision based on someone's false info.
<My opinion>
The cortex is defaulted to running analog servos, so I suggest you
reprogram it to run digital servos for faster response
but just remember not to use or return to analog servos,
because they will burn out from the power serge if using a powerbox unit.

Have a good fight

Last edited by artchristic2; 10-14-2016 at 12:29 PM.
artchristic2 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Location
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.