Reasons for Excessive Pitch Sensitivity? - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
General RC Aircraft Discussion Discuss anything RC related
Sponsored by: Shami Hobbies

Old 07-11-2016, 12:26 PM   #1
Cougar429
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★

I am: Gary L

Total Props: 35
Reasons for Excessive Pitch Sensitivity?

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
O/K, with the proviso I have been building and flying for 3 decades have to admit I have never had any craft as sensitive as this one.

Built the now defunct nitro powered Thunder Tiger Rare Bear a few years ago and it has suffered some issues related in this build thread here:

http://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/showthread.php?t=132690

Anyone with the patience to read through the build thread will see I have addressed most, but one has been an ongoing annoyance and once that I cannot account for under normal circumstances and hope someone may have other ideas or solutions.

Since I built it with the elevator servo in the tail I have eliminated what is by far the biggest problem of tail shedding due to flutter. With this craft the elevator itself is far larger and out of proportion to the stabs themselves and with the idea of solving the pitch control problem I pulled both elevators and cut down their area approx 25%, along with installing some stiffer control wires, (their original stock wires were more flexible and aggravated the problem).

Their elevator deflection is approx 1/4" up or down, much less than anything else I've seen and even with that there is full control, even slowed down for landing.

My problem is twofold. First is my own fault with the attempt to heat and fit the original nylon pivot/hinge setup adding enough drag to prevent the elevators from returning to absolute neutral, even with a servo strong enough to handle any flight loads, (approx 100 oz/in). The very slight residual deflection creates havoc in the air and panic on landing.