Onion skin or Tracing paper? - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Construction Ideas, Hints and Tips For all the builders out there. Ask questions, make suggestions, trade tips.

Old 07-15-2016, 12:58 PM   #1
Rickity
RCC Apprentice

I am: Rick T
Radio of choice:
Spektrum
# of RCs: 16

Total Props: 4
Onion skin or Tracing paper?

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I am very new at this and am wondering what you use to transfer from the drawings to the wood? Someone said onion skin and then I was told tracing paper, or is there an easier way to do this?
Rickity is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 07-15-2016, 01:29 PM   #2
stegl
RCC Supreme Contributor

I am: Len S
Radio of choice:
Jeti DS16 just need one radio as it does it all but still use my Airtronics SD10.
# of RCs: 10

Total Props: 20
Re: Onion skin or Tracing paper?

Use whatever shows thru better. Smaller parts and especially with wing ribs , I make heavier solid cardboard (not corigated) templates and use these to mark wood for cutting. Cardboard from cereal boxes ,works great ; you are recycling ; and mistakes cost nothing. This is where constant cord wings , make it the easiest. The tracing paper can be glued to the cardboard using any non water spray contact cement.

You will have to adjust the size to take into account that when traceing patterns onto wood
That your new line will be very slightly larger. Works great for me but others will have better ideas , according to them.

When done , store all the rib and bulkhead templates into an Kraft envelope for future use n the case of repair.
stegl is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 07-15-2016, 03:46 PM   #3
Mike Sebastien
RCC Supreme Contributor

I am: Mike s

Total Props: 15