Fuel problem - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
General RC Aircraft Discussion Discuss anything RC related
Sponsored by: Shami Hobbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2016, 03:17 PM   #1
Glenn Nigh
RCC Contributor
 
I am: Glenn N
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Grimsby, On.
Radio of choice:
Spektrum
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 18 / 100%
Posts: 480
Total Props: 7
Fuel problem


       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
On my Kingfisher, picture attached, I am having problems getting it started for the first time each day. The fuel tank is mounted under the pylon in the fuselage between the wings. The one time I had the motor going it ran fine but I know the fuel is not getting up to the motor from the tank at first start. This is a Quadra 40 powered airplane on gasoline and oil mix. Is there a valve I can get to solve my problem? Thanks for any help, I would like to test fly it this weekend if I can find a solution. I should add that I have used three lines from the tank, one to the engine, one vent and one fill that I close off after filling. No tank pressure. Thanks, Glenn
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC08178.JPG
Views:	95
Size:	318.3 KB
ID:	1021545  
Glenn Nigh is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 07-31-2016, 03:34 PM   #2
williame3590
Administrator
★ Site Supporter ★
★ Site Supporter ★★ Administrator ★
 
williame3590's Avatar
 
I am: William A
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Caledonia
Radio of choice:
Futaba

Feedback: 87 / 100%
Posts: 8,144
Total Props: 66
Re: Fuel problem

Very excellent restoration Glenn. I truly wish Doug could see it today. Have you tried shooting a little fuel into the carb via a squeeze bulb?

Bill
__________________
''engine hoarder''
williame3590 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 07-31-2016, 03:35 PM   #3
Mike Sebastien
RCC Supreme Contributor
 
Mike Sebastien's Avatar
 
I am: Mike s
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Moncton, NB

Feedback: 11 / 100%
Posts: 2,261
Total Props: 13
Re: Fuel problem

Nice airplane. The first thing I would do is get rid of the quadra. They are terrible. There is are much better engines out there that will give you better performance and reliability.

There is no valve to adjust. You will have to depend on the carb pulling fuel from the tank. The only thing I can suggest is make sure the line is full by priming it.
__________________
Mike
Mike Sebastien is offline   Quick reply to this message.
 
Old 07-31-2016, 03:50 PM   #4
stegl
RCC Supreme Contributor
 
I am: Len S
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kelowna
Radio of choice:
Jeti DS16 just need one radio as it does it all but still use my Airtronics SD10.
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 28 / 100%
Posts: 3,075
Total Props: 20
Re: Fuel problem

Nothing wrong with the Quarda as long as it is set up right to begin with. And yes there are probably better engines out there for a price but no need to throw out the Quadra if already installed. If you are only having issues on first startup and with the low rank it sounds like drain back into the tank. A good prime is all she needs. You could consider trying a one way valve that doesn't allow drain back. I know festo make them and called a check valve.
stegl is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 07-31-2016, 04:06 PM   #5
mogman
RCC Senior Contributor
 
mogman's Avatar
 
I am: Dave C
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pitt Meadows,B.C.
Radio of choice:
JR 9303
# of RCs: 30+

Feedback: 10 / 100%
Posts: 748
Total Props: 9
Re: Fuel problem

The Quadra should have no problem pulling the fuel up from the tank.
Having said that, can you mount a tank in the pod?

Here's mine 1/3 scale Saito 57 gas twin.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_0991.JPG
Views:	69
Size:	957.2 KB
ID:	1021561   Click image for larger version

Name:	100_0992.JPG
Views:	70
Size:	1,014.5 KB
ID:	1021569   Click image for larger version

Name:	100_0993.JPG
Views:	56
Size:	858.9 KB
ID:	1021577  
__________________
Dave Collis
Pitt Meadows B.C.
maac 37241
mogman is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 07-31-2016, 05:13 PM   #6
Frank Klenk
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
 
Frank Klenk's Avatar
 
I am: Frank Klenk
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sunny Tillsonburg, Ontario (banana belt)
Radio of choice:
Futaba
# of RCs: 2

Feedback: 41 / 100%
Posts: 4,009
Total Props: 20
Re: Fuel problem

Hi Glenn:
Does the Quadra have a choke? I had one that did not and it was a bear to start too.
__________________
Frank Klenk
MAAC 32001L
IMAC 3698
MECA 4762
Frank Klenk is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 07-31-2016, 05:31 PM   #7
Glenn Nigh
RCC Contributor
 
I am: Glenn N
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Grimsby, On.
Radio of choice:
Spektrum
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 18 / 100%
Posts: 480
Total Props: 7
Re: Fuel problem

Yep! and she will fire within two tries. That is how I know I'm not getting fuel there soon enough.
Glenn Nigh is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 07-31-2016, 05:37 PM   #8
Glenn Nigh
RCC Contributor
 
I am: Glenn N
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Grimsby, On.
Radio of choice:
Spektrum
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 18 / 100%
Posts: 480
Total Props: 7
Re: Fuel problem

No Dave the pod is full of other stuff. I know if I can get the fuel up once if it stays there it will start. Very, very nice Dave. Is your fuselage built up or fiber glass?
Glenn Nigh is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 07-31-2016, 05:48 PM   #9
Glenn Nigh
RCC Contributor
 
I am: Glenn N
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Grimsby, On.
Radio of choice:
Spektrum
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 18 / 100%
Posts: 480
Total Props: 7
Re: Fuel problem

No Choke Frank but I have had the throttle closed and near closed , open, primed, finger over the choke and can't get the fuel up fast enough to catch and carry on running. I checked for leaks, can't find any. I think I have a choke on another motor here, I'll try that. I think a valve in the line to keep the fuel from backing into the tank would work. I guess I could blow into the tank through the vent line with a little pressure to get the fuel up to the Quadra. Thought of that at supper time. A piece of fuel line and brass tubing the right size, might just do it..
Glenn Nigh is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 07-31-2016, 05:52 PM   #10
Glenn Nigh
RCC Contributor
 
I am: Glenn N
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Grimsby, On.
Radio of choice:
Spektrum
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 18 / 100%
Posts: 480
Total Props: 7
Re: Fuel problem

I'll check on that Len Thank you. Some way one of these remedies has to work. A new day tomorrow. Glenn
Glenn Nigh is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Location
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.