Team GH (Hitek)charger problem - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electronics Discuss radios, chargers, etc...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2016, 06:26 PM   #1
kitbuilder
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
★ Site Supporter ★
 
kitbuilder's Avatar
 
I am: Bill M.
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Meaford, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Spektrum
# of RCs: 10+

Feedback: 14 / 100%
Posts: 283
Total Props: 0
Team GH (Hitek)charger problem


       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
I've been using a Team Great Hobbies AC/DC Q6400 100WX4 for over a year now. It's been great charging 4 batteries at a time. Today on #4 station it started showing an error code "In Voltage Error" and would not start charging. I changed batteries, changed charging wires, changed balancing board, did a factory reset on that station - all to no avail. The manual is no help at all when it says "incoming voltage insufficient". I even checked the AC wall outlet and it was fine. The 3 different batteries I tried were all at the correct voltage (3.86v) for a storage charge. While all this was going on the other 3 stations continued working properly. Does anyone else have this charger and has had problems with it? (worst case scenario is that I now have a 3 station charger . All comments appreciated.
__________________
Bill
Owen Sound Barnstormers

kitbuilder is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 08-11-2016, 06:47 PM   #2
4*60
RCC Pro Contributor
 
4*60's Avatar
 
I am: Dennis M
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 50 52 38 -119 22 14
Radio of choice:
Taranis
# of RCs: 14

Feedback: 7 / 100%
Posts: 1,875
Total Props: 7
Re: Team GH (Hitek)charger problem

I agree you have a 3 station charger.
4*60 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-12-2016, 12:53 AM   #3
waynepinke
RCC Junior Contributor
 
waynepinke's Avatar
 
I am: Wayne Pinke
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: LASALLE, ONTARIO
Radio of choice:
Futaba & Hitec

Feedback: 22 / 100%
Posts: 208
Total Props: 5
Re: Team GH (Hitek)charger problem

I have the DC version myself & have not taken mine apart (still working well), but there may possibly be a separate fuse inside for each "station" where the power is supplied to the "charging" portion of its circuitry, but doesn't affect the power for the display to keep working. Some fuses may look obvious as we have seen, but it can also look like a resistor or even a "surface mounted" device on the circuit board.

Other than that, it could be a poor connection or a bad component feeding the charger for that "station". Might be worth taking a look inside to see what's there ------- fuse, poor connection, or burn/hot spots near an electronic part to get an idea of what you're dealing with.

You can possibly send it in (during the "off-season" when you're not flying) for repair/exchange/upgrade or whatever is available from Hitec or the place in Illinois that repairs a lot of our equipment.

If you feel comfortable looking inside, I hope this may be of some help to find the problem.
__________________
Wayne Pinke
MAAC #8730
Sun Parlor RC Flyers (Windsor, Ont)
waynepinke is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-12-2016, 05:37 AM   #4
floyd
RCC Supreme Contributor
 
I am: Floyd S
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Stayner, Ontario

Feedback: 127 / 100%
Posts: 2,048
Total Props: 5
Re: Team GH (Hitek)charger problem

My Hobbico Accu-Cycle Elite 2 port charger has also lost a channel. I get different error codes from the bad side. I now have a one port charger and cycler. I have 2 Hitec X4's that I use with no issues yet. If I do lose a channel on one of my X4's I'll try the HobbyKing brand. For the price of the Hitec I expect them to last a lifetime. I did contact Hobbico about my Elite but I got no reply. Cheers Floyd
floyd is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-12-2016, 06:50 PM   #5
kitbuilder
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
★ Site Supporter ★
 
kitbuilder's Avatar
 
I am: Bill M.
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Meaford, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Spektrum
# of RCs: 10+

Feedback: 14 / 100%
Posts: 283
Total Props: 0
Re: Team GH (Hitek)charger problem

opened it up but no fuses to be seen. All solid state. They're actually made by EV-Peak in China so I'm not sure about warranty if any. I sent an e-mail to GH about repair work and possibly they'll get back to me early next week.
__________________
Bill
Owen Sound Barnstormers

kitbuilder is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-18-2016, 09:48 PM   #6
kitbuilder
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
★ Site Supporter ★
 
kitbuilder's Avatar
 
I am: Bill M.
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Meaford, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Spektrum
# of RCs: 10+

Feedback: 14 / 100%
Posts: 283
Total Props: 0
Re: Team GH (Hitek)charger problem UPDATE

Kudos to Great Hobbies - - they exchanged the faulty charger with a brand new one free of charge. Called me long distance from PEI to arrange it. Excellent customer service.
__________________
Bill
Owen Sound Barnstormers

kitbuilder is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-18-2016, 10:32 PM   #7
4*60
RCC Pro Contributor
 
4*60's Avatar
 
I am: Dennis M
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: 50 52 38 -119 22 14
Radio of choice:
Taranis
# of RCs: 14

Feedback: 7 / 100%
Posts: 1,875
Total Props: 7
Re: Team GH (Hitek)charger problem

That is good service!
4*60 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-19-2016, 09:52 AM   #8
CF105
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
 
CF105's Avatar
 
I am: Kevin Drayson
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Moncton NB
Radio of choice:
Spektrum DX8
# of RCs: n+1

Feedback: 6 / 100%
Posts: 831
Total Props: 9
Re: Team GH (Hitek)charger problem

I ran into the same thing with my X4 last year. It's now a 3-port charger. It's even touchier if I try to run it off a power supply. The other ports often struggle to balance packs before timing out, so I now only charge 3S 3300 and smaller packs with it. Anything bigger goes on the PowerLabs charger.

I think the Hitec (as well as GH and SkyRC) are all using a generic charger from one company in China. The price is high... but the quality doesn't seem to be there.
CF105 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-19-2016, 10:50 AM   #9
kitbuilder
Level 3 Supporter
★ Site Supporter ★
★ Site Supporter ★
 
kitbuilder's Avatar
 
I am: Bill M.
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Meaford, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Spektrum
# of RCs: 10+

Feedback: 14 / 100%
Posts: 283
Total Props: 0
Re: Team GH (Hitek)charger problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by CF105 View Post
I think the Hitec (as well as GH and SkyRC) are all using a generic charger from one company in China. The price is high... but the quality doesn't seem to be there.
They're all made by EV-Peak in China. They've got an interesting web site. GH gave me the latest model the CQ-3.
__________________
Bill
Owen Sound Barnstormers

kitbuilder is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-19-2016, 11:47 AM   #10
Max
Administrator
★ Site Supporter ★★ Administrator ★
 
Max's Avatar
 
I am: Max P.
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Aurora, Ontario
Radio of choice:
JR and Spektrum

Feedback: 21 / 100%
Posts: 13,818
Total Props: 152
Re: Team GH (Hitek)charger problem

A friend of mine had the same problem with is x4 charger. Turns out he shorted the battery cable when he used one of those octopus cables. With battery attached and a short generated, it overloads the Mofset that shuts off the power from the charger to the battery when the charge is complete. The Mosfet cant handle the power surging through the short and it burns up. Visibly its hard to see but if you look closely, it is broken.


This is the Mosfet in question:
http://www.alldatasheet.com/view.jsp?Searchword=F7413

I ordered up a few and swapped it out. Works great now.

This is not to say this is the cause of your problem, or even the solution to your problem, but it may be worth a look.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BlownMosfet.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	65.7 KB
ID:	1034665  
__________________
RC Test Pilot; FPV Instructor, Airplane Instructor; Helicopter Instructor

My Aircraft Albums: http://www.rccanada.ca/rccforum/album.php?u=13173

Last Photo added: Dec 15; Warwing Foamy for FPV
Max is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Location
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.