Buying advice! - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
General RC Heli Discussion Discuss general topics on rotary wing aircraft, including construction, Servo's, Gryo's and Stabilizer discussions. Heli Pro Shop

Old 08-15-2016, 11:44 PM   #1
RCC Noob
I am: Jock M
Radio of choice:
# of RCs: 3

Total Props: 0
Buying advice!

Remove this ad - become a site supporter!

I’m total noob to RC helicopters – I had a couple of RC cars back in the day but always dreamt about getting a bird and flying an RC copter. I just never had the time or money to indulge. Anyways, long story short I’ve got a bit more time on my hands at the moment and a bit more money than usual so thought I’d splash out and treat myself to a new rotary friend.

I’ve been looking into buying RC Helicopters online but there are so many options it’s a bit overwhelming. I have a bunch of questions that you guys might be able to help with. I had a look on the forum but couldn’t see any answers already posted. Forgive me if I’m rehashing old ground here:

What am I looking for in a good beginner heli? I don’t want anything too complex or expensive until I’m more experienced but equally I don’t want anything so basic it’s useless to train on.

What are the pros and cons of the various fuel sources? I’m leaning towards electric but if there are benefits to glow fuel then I’m not adverse to that either.

Finally I have been looking at the GT450L as a potential starter. Anyone have experience with this heli?

Thanks for any help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SKU180426-12.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	70.1 KB
ID:	1032505  

Last edited by FlyingScotsman; 08-17-2016 at 11:10 PM.
FlyingScotsman is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 08-16-2016, 12:12 AM   #2
★ Site Supporter ★
I am: Ed
Radio of choice:
# of RCs:

Total Props: 8
Re: Buying advice!