Can I use this motor??..with what prop?? - RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum
RCCanada - Canada's Radio Control Hobby Forum
Electric Flight Discuss Electric Flight in Canada

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2016, 09:30 AM   #1
gixerfien
RCC Pro Contributor
★ Site Supporter ★
 
gixerfien's Avatar
 
I am: cory b
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: port perry, ON
Radio of choice:
spektrum DX9, DX4S
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 23 / 100%
Posts: 1,550
Total Props: 11
Can I use this motor??..with what prop??


       Remove this ad - become a site supporter!
Hey guys,

If it was a heli than no problem but when it comes to planes.

I'm not too gud at knowing which motor kv and prop to go with and which RPM you want to achieve and things like that.

So I want to build a pusher prop wing...in particularly this one here:
http://flitetest.com/articles/ft-versa-wing-build

I want to make it really FAST!!, flitetest has put everything from an 80w motor up to an 800w motor in them and still holding up!!

I want to use a 3s scorpion heli motor from a 450 I have with a 40 amp esc, it's the 2221-8, it's got a 28mm sized can and has 3595 which is where I get lost in if I could make it work or if this is exactly what I want for high speed???

I see the plans suggest a 29g 1300kv motor at a bare minimum and if you read through the reviews on that page with the build then plenty of guys have used 2200kv range motors.

I emailed them and they said it would work and be very fast which is what I'm going for (the one in their speed test video did 108MPH!!).

So I'm assuming they know they're stuff and it will work but now I need to know what prop I should be using and what kinda RPM I want to achieve in this kind of setup.

The plans suggest a 8x6 if building it in the pusher format...do I need to defer from this because of my motor KV??

What kinda RPM do you want for real fast top speeds?

I was almost under the impression that I would want to go with a bit smaller length prop so that raises the RPM??...but then started thinking well if I have the motor KV to back it then maybe I could use the same size suggested prop and I'll still be getting a way higher than RPM with also now have the bigger prop for more air??

Any help and insight would be great
__________________
Spektrum DX9, DX4S-Realflight 7
Align 250 DFC,Mini Vbar, YEP 18, S306G HV's
Align 500L Dominator, Vbar Silverline, YEP 90LV, BK 5001's and BK 5005, Switchblades
Goblin 380, Mini Vbar, Xnova 3215, YGE 90LV, BK 3001's and BK 5005, Switchblades
Goblin 700 comp(BNIB)
Blade 450x, every lynx/blade upgrade available--PARTING OUT(CHECK CLASSIFIEDS)
HK Clik and RC Foam Factory Click super-lite(BNIB)
Losi Mini 8ight--Leopard LBP2838, HW 10BL60, BK 5001, Shumacher Rally's+Pins, Rhino 1050mah 40c
gixerfien is offline   Quick reply to this message.

Sponsored Links - Subscribe to remove this ad.
Old 08-30-2016, 10:17 PM   #2
gixerfien
RCC Pro Contributor
★ Site Supporter ★
 
gixerfien's Avatar
 
I am: cory b
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: port perry, ON
Radio of choice:
spektrum DX9, DX4S
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 23 / 100%
Posts: 1,550
Total Props: 11
Re: Can I use this motor??..with what prop??

anybody?
__________________
Spektrum DX9, DX4S-Realflight 7
Align 250 DFC,Mini Vbar, YEP 18, S306G HV's
Align 500L Dominator, Vbar Silverline, YEP 90LV, BK 5001's and BK 5005, Switchblades
Goblin 380, Mini Vbar, Xnova 3215, YGE 90LV, BK 3001's and BK 5005, Switchblades
Goblin 700 comp(BNIB)
Blade 450x, every lynx/blade upgrade available--PARTING OUT(CHECK CLASSIFIEDS)
HK Clik and RC Foam Factory Click super-lite(BNIB)
Losi Mini 8ight--Leopard LBP2838, HW 10BL60, BK 5001, Shumacher Rally's+Pins, Rhino 1050mah 40c
gixerfien is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-30-2016, 11:28 PM   #3
twistedge
___\_(ツ)_/___________
★ Site Supporter ★
 
twistedge's Avatar
 
I am: Ed
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Radio of choice:
DX8
# of RCs:

Feedback: 63 / 100%
Posts: 614
Total Props: 8
Re: Can I use this motor??..with what prop??

I'd recommend that you start playing with tools like http://www.ecalc.ch/

It will help to show that putting an 8x6 on that motor at 3595KV is going to draw north of 150 Amps. (It would be a race to see if the motor burned before the ESC).

Smallish, high KV motors like that are typically geared (for helis, cars, etc..)

If you have other motors, put them through the Calc.. try to find the highest pitch that stays with motor/esc specs.

If you're looking to buy a motor.. I like to start with weight. May as well start with something that balances well in your setup... then start plugging in specs. It's a bit of trial and error if your plane doesn't have a recommended setup.
twistedge is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-30-2016, 11:56 PM   #4
gixerfien
RCC Pro Contributor
★ Site Supporter ★
 
gixerfien's Avatar
 
I am: cory b
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: port perry, ON
Radio of choice:
spektrum DX9, DX4S
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 23 / 100%
Posts: 1,550
Total Props: 11
Re: Can I use this motor??..with what prop??

cool thanks, I just finished playing around with this other calc here too:
http://flbeagle.rchomepage.com/softw..._imperial.html

I found I can run about a 5x4 prop and get about 150km/h outta this thing..not the 200kph I was looking to break but it should be still pretty darn quick
__________________
Spektrum DX9, DX4S-Realflight 7
Align 250 DFC,Mini Vbar, YEP 18, S306G HV's
Align 500L Dominator, Vbar Silverline, YEP 90LV, BK 5001's and BK 5005, Switchblades
Goblin 380, Mini Vbar, Xnova 3215, YGE 90LV, BK 3001's and BK 5005, Switchblades
Goblin 700 comp(BNIB)
Blade 450x, every lynx/blade upgrade available--PARTING OUT(CHECK CLASSIFIEDS)
HK Clik and RC Foam Factory Click super-lite(BNIB)
Losi Mini 8ight--Leopard LBP2838, HW 10BL60, BK 5001, Shumacher Rally's+Pins, Rhino 1050mah 40c
gixerfien is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-31-2016, 12:06 AM   #5
twistedge
___\_(ツ)_/___________
★ Site Supporter ★
 
twistedge's Avatar
 
I am: Ed
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Radio of choice:
DX8
# of RCs:

Feedback: 63 / 100%
Posts: 614
Total Props: 8
Re: Can I use this motor??..with what prop??

I dunno about 5x4 on that Scorpion... looks like it'll still draw 65-70A.. I know they're tough, but the 2221-8 is rated for ~45A continous.

I'm not sure you can just drop a propeller on a heli motor and call it a plane.
twistedge is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-31-2016, 12:22 AM   #6
gixerfien
RCC Pro Contributor
★ Site Supporter ★
 
gixerfien's Avatar
 
I am: cory b
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: port perry, ON
Radio of choice:
spektrum DX9, DX4S
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 23 / 100%
Posts: 1,550
Total Props: 11
Re: Can I use this motor??..with what prop??

how are you getting 65-70.

I get a max of 43.72 amps when I do it ?!?....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	14
Size:	215.5 KB
ID:	1043313  
__________________
Spektrum DX9, DX4S-Realflight 7
Align 250 DFC,Mini Vbar, YEP 18, S306G HV's
Align 500L Dominator, Vbar Silverline, YEP 90LV, BK 5001's and BK 5005, Switchblades
Goblin 380, Mini Vbar, Xnova 3215, YGE 90LV, BK 3001's and BK 5005, Switchblades
Goblin 700 comp(BNIB)
Blade 450x, every lynx/blade upgrade available--PARTING OUT(CHECK CLASSIFIEDS)
HK Clik and RC Foam Factory Click super-lite(BNIB)
Losi Mini 8ight--Leopard LBP2838, HW 10BL60, BK 5001, Shumacher Rally's+Pins, Rhino 1050mah 40c
gixerfien is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-31-2016, 08:13 AM   #7
stegl
RCC Supreme Contributor
 
I am: Len S
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kelowna
Radio of choice:
Jeti DS16 just need one radio as it does it all but still use my Airtronics SD10.
# of RCs: 10

Feedback: 27 / 100%
Posts: 2,799
Total Props: 16
Re: Can I use this motor??..with what prop??

with a high kv motor as you have start with adjusting the finer pitch props to reduce current rather than diameter. I have a Scorpion 30 series heli motor I converted to aircraft and it moves real fast. Although it was a much lower kv on 4S . Ecalc is a good program but only to get you into the ballpark and not to be an end all as there are other factors to making it all work. Also recommend a Castle Creations ESC so as to be able to match up specs of your Scorpion motor which may help a bit.
stegl is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-31-2016, 08:59 AM   #8
tporter416
RCC Expert Contributor
 
tporter416's Avatar
 
I am: Tom P
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Spektrum DX9
# of RCs: 11

Feedback: 14 / 100%
Posts: 828
Total Props: 5
Re: Can I use this motor??..with what prop??

Cory, I use ecalc for my planes and have found it very useful, however if you don't enter all the info the third dial does not change from electric power to current. You need to enter all your drive info for the calculator to work properly. I recently used it when I upgraded my HH spitfire from 3S to 4S, found the ammp draw on the calc to be 1A off what I measured at the field. I assume you are using a YEP 40A ESC? Use the YGE 40A in the selector, I did and it worked great. I found ecalc to be very accurate so follow what it says... (Disclaimer, ecalc only works as well as the info entered into it. )
__________________
MSH Protos Max V2 700, SAB Goblin 500, SAB Goblin 380, Blade 180CFX, mCPX BL, nano CP S, F-16, 3DHS Edge 540, Spitfire Mk IX, 540QQ, F-18, E-Max 250 Quad
tporter416 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-31-2016, 09:27 AM   #9
gixerfien
RCC Pro Contributor
★ Site Supporter ★
 
gixerfien's Avatar
 
I am: cory b
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: port perry, ON
Radio of choice:
spektrum DX9, DX4S
# of RCs: 8

Feedback: 23 / 100%
Posts: 1,550
Total Props: 11
Re: Can I use this motor??..with what prop??

Ok cool thanks, and ya its getting a yep 40 lol.

I think I did pretty much have all the sections covered when I did that ecalc so I'm thinking that's where I start with an use a watt meter and check it out and go from there.

How come when you try to select motors or esc's on the ecalc there are soo many that are grayed out and you really have to dick with it to get the motor you want to pop up and be available to select, had to much trouble to trying to get the motor selected since you can't choose a kv that with the esc I just set it to 40 max since yge40 was grayed out and unavailable to select, but I would way rather be able to select yge 40

Why is this?

Gonna start building the flying wing today
__________________
Spektrum DX9, DX4S-Realflight 7
Align 250 DFC,Mini Vbar, YEP 18, S306G HV's
Align 500L Dominator, Vbar Silverline, YEP 90LV, BK 5001's and BK 5005, Switchblades
Goblin 380, Mini Vbar, Xnova 3215, YGE 90LV, BK 3001's and BK 5005, Switchblades
Goblin 700 comp(BNIB)
Blade 450x, every lynx/blade upgrade available--PARTING OUT(CHECK CLASSIFIEDS)
HK Clik and RC Foam Factory Click super-lite(BNIB)
Losi Mini 8ight--Leopard LBP2838, HW 10BL60, BK 5001, Shumacher Rally's+Pins, Rhino 1050mah 40c
gixerfien is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Old 08-31-2016, 09:49 AM   #10
tporter416
RCC Expert Contributor
 
tporter416's Avatar
 
I am: Tom P
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Radio of choice:
Spektrum DX9
# of RCs: 11

Feedback: 14 / 100%
Posts: 828
Total Props: 5
Re: Can I use this motor??..with what prop??

The motors and ESC's are greyed out because they want you to buy access to the full version. You can refresh a number of times until what you need is select-able. I would fill in the lipo, esc, motor and prop info and use the current meter. The more info you put in the better the calcs will be.

Tom
__________________
MSH Protos Max V2 700, SAB Goblin 500, SAB Goblin 380, Blade 180CFX, mCPX BL, nano CP S, F-16, 3DHS Edge 540, Spitfire Mk IX, 540QQ, F-18, E-Max 250 Quad
tporter416 is offline   Quick reply to this message.
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the RCCanada - Canada Radio Controlled Hobby Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Member names may only be composed of alpha-numeric characters. (A-Z and 0-9)

!!ATTENTION ADVERTISERS!! If you intend on advertising anything on this forum, whatsoever, you are required to first contact us here . Additionally, we do NOT allow BUSINESS NAMES unless you are an Authorized Vendor. If you own a business, and want to do sales on this site via posting or private message, you will need to follow the rules. Shops, Stores, Distributors, Group Buys without being authorized will see your account terminated.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Your Name
Your first name and last initial is required if you plan on using the forum.
Location
Which city & province you live in. This is mandatory for classified listings.
Radio of choice?
Which radio is your current favorite to use?
Number of RC Vehicles?
How many boats, cars, planes do you own?

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
vBulletin Message

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.